We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful winery”
Review of Wide River Winery

Wide River Winery
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wide River Winery is located in Clinton IA on a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River at its widest point. The tasting room offers up to 5 tastes of their locally made award winning wines. Beautiful expanded deck that can be enjoyed Spring, Summer, Fall and some mild Winter days too!
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Winery is set on top of a hill. The view is phenomenal...looks down at the widest part of the Mississippi. Wine pourer was knowledgeable and friendly. The deck where we were "sipping on the Mississippi" was beautiful . Wine tastings are free and they have some beer..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank joyvpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and enjoy a beautiful view”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stopped by Wide River as part of an Iowa Winery tour. The building is great-- lots of seating, very upscale decor, and lots of tasting options. During the tour they had live music and an appetizer buffet. Both were excellent. The view from the patio is excellent, and invites guests to linger. A great addition to a day trip experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peosta
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Adventures”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went to this winery wow what a road/lane!!!! Keep in mind it was a winter day!!!! Once there it's beautiful and amazing:) We had samples along with purchases!!!! We truly enjoyed everything about this place!!! Can't wait to go in the spring they have outdoor seating and the view would be wonderful. She even said they have music and events can't get it any better than that.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBrienIA, Guest Relations Manager at Wide River Winery, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi Nancy,
Thank you for the great endorsements of both our location and wines. We are always making improvements to the road so we look forward to your next visit. Like us on Facebook or visit the website for calendar of events. January 25 is our Chili Cook Off featuring live music with the Rippler's.
Warm regards,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved our visit!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Don't miss when in Clinton. Lovely deck with spectacular views of the river. Friendly atmosphere. Be sure to walk the trail along the river.

Helpful?
Thank Mary_Berkeley_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine and view!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This winery is so much fun, great wine, fun employees. Having moved to Clinton from Chicago, this is salvation!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank anneklein10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBrienIA, Manager at Wide River Winery, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Anne,
Thank you for the great review and welcome to Clinton. As a transplant myself I'm glad you found the winery and hope that you will visit again soon. Enjoy safe and happy holidays.
Kind regards,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wide River Winery also viewed

 

Been to Wide River Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing