We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
kellysuekc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best breakfast!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I decided to book a room here for one night on my way to Chicago from Kansas city.
I was using priority club points for this hotel. I was assured there would be no charges to my bank card. Well, there's still a $40 pending fee. Front desk did not seem very knowledgeable or friendly. The hotel site said they were remodeling, there was a guy in the hallway sanding walls during the day, no biggie. The room was very nice and clean, king size bed was very comfortable. I did request a room on the 2 nd floor or higher in advance but they could only give me 1st floor. Large hot breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had I would recommend you stay for breakfast no need to go anywhere else. After breakfast I planned in going ti the indoor pool, that was the reason I chose this location. The pool was too cold to swim in the maintenance guy showed up as I was caving to turn the heat back on and told me it would be warm in a few seconds. I didn't believe that could happen but I checked back in 15 minutes, still too cold. This is disappointing and will keep me from staying at thus location in the future. Not a bad hotel but I would not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellycomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Kellycomic,

Hello! I am glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast at our hotel. Thank you. I am also deeply sorry you were not able to swim. I would like to discuss the hold you still have on your card to make sure this has been taken care of. I have sent you a private message with more details.

Thanks again,

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    26
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
16
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is a good spot for a stay if you're visiting Clinton. It's not in the old downtown part of town, but in the newer, urban sprawlish part of town (and compared to other towns it's not urban sprawl at all). There's a Wal-Mart nearby, and a few restaurants to choose from, and there's a small casino just up the road.

I had the bad luck of staying there while they are doing a bunch of updating to the floors and walls, so the common areas were in pretty rough shape, and it smelled bad. I'm sure once the renovations are done it will be quite nice. The staff was friendly and helpful, and my room was in great shape and it was very clean.

Breakfast was the usual spread that Holiday Inn Express puts out. The food was hot, and the breakfast area was nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
prch,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The pickings for hotels in Clinton are a bit limited, but we found the Holiday Inn Express to be perfectly acceptable. Yes, it is away from "downtown Clinton", but where it is located is convenient to many amenities such as walkable to Walmart, Target and Applebee's. Pretty much you need a car anywhere you go in Clinton, so the location did not bother us.
The room was clean and fine for a family of 4, with a fridge to keep our beverages cold. When we stayed, they were repainting the outside of the hotel so the windows were blocked off with plastic which felt a little claustrophobic. The painters also used power spray painters which left a little overspray residue on our car in the short time we pulled in to go to the reception area but luckily it washed off.
The beds were fairly comfortable, but the pillows, while given a choice of firm or soft, were both fairly lumpy.
We used the indoor swimming pool which was very small but fine for the kids to play in. They provided pool towels which they kept adequately stocked. The breakfasts were very filling with choices of hot selections (eggs, sausage, cinnamon buns, etc) and make-your-own pancakes, as well as cold selections such as yogurts, cereal, bagels, muffins, fruit, oatmeal, juices, etc. They had juices, coffee and hot chocolate or tea available all day in the lobby. The woman refreshing the breakfasts was very friendly and made sure everything was well stocked.
All in all a fine place to stay in Clinton.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieKate_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I saw the other reviews but I thought this place was a little pricey for my budget. Fortunately, I ran into a discount that made it more affordable for me, so I booked it. I was not disappointed. The staff was friendly. The room was very clean. I did not try the breakfast bar, but it looked to have a good selection. My room had a microwave, mircro fridge, comfortable king bed, TV, internet WI-FI, desk, couch, roomy bathroom, environmental controls, layered curtains to block light, plastic cups, plates, bowls, and plastic-ware packs with salt/pepper. It seems like they thought of everything.
The pool (I think it was a around 5ft) and work out room (3 machines) were small, but would do the job for short stay...plus a work out place is right across the street if you want to do more. The business center consisted of a computer/printer at a desk just off the lobby. Granted these amenities were small, but they fit the bill and considering it is a hotel in a small town, it was great to find lodging were these all exist at all.
There hotel is walking distance from Target, Walmart, Applebees, Office Max, and several other stores. It is only about 3-4 miles from Ashford university...enter Manufacture rd from the Target drive way and it is straight shot until you get to the left turn to park at Ashford University. It was also easy to find my way from the Moline airport.
The only detractor was the noise of the person above me and an unfortunate fire alarm one morning...on the bright side, it was good to know the fire alert system works. The staff quickly got the situation assessed and peace restored so guests could return to whatever they were doing.
Clinton seemed like a nice small town and I was there to attend an event. It was nice opportunity to step away from the hustle and bustle of my normal schedule. The front desk personnel and housekeeping staff that I encountered were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel two nights August 21 and 22 for his high school reunion. I discovered all the rave reviews on Trip Advisor were well-founded as we checked in. The place smelled fresh and clean and had been recently painted - always a good sign. Means they want to maintain the place to a high standard. We stayed in Room 230. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Beds were soft and we each had ample pillows. Also, the soundproofing is excellent. We never heard our neighbors. To be fair, we had a corner room, but we never heard anyone in the halls or in the room next to ours.

The bathroom was very well-furnished with plenty of towels for each of us. The shower was fun because of the three different settings. There do not appear to be any treads on the shower floor to keep you from slipping, so be careful. Only one little nitpick here: the shower exhaust fan doesn't work well and took nearly 40 minutes to clear out the steam and unfog the mirror, but so what. Everything else about it was fine so I'll overlook that.

It was such a nice treat to have a nice warm breakfast waiting for us in the lobby area every morning. Quite a nice selection, too. Yoplait yogurt in several flavors, hard-boiled eggs, skim milk in little cartons, scrambled eggs or cheese omlets, bacon, sausage, toast, bagals, cinnamon rolls, and four choices of name-brand cereals. Every morning. I'm not kidding. And it's really good food, too!

The staff was courteous and helpful. Many thanks to Clay the desk clerk/supervisor who was more than accommodating in replacing our broken refrigerator in five minutes of having called him. Now that's service! Try getting that attention anywhere else.

Oh, did I mention their pool? I swam for about a half hour both days I was there and really enjoyed it, and I'm very particular when it comes to pools. If they even remotely appear nasty, forget it. But this pool's great! The water was sparkling clean and the temperature was comfortable. Plenty of towels available. Awesome!

In summary, if you find yourself in Clinton, Iowa, stay at this place. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla67St_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Was in Clinton to attend a funeral, so this was the perfect location as it's right across the street from the cemetary (Springfield). Room was very large, very comfortable, with a larger than usual frig and a microwave that may or may not have worked.

Generous and comfy queen with both soft and firm pillows, comfortable sofa, and clean. The room was truly ready despite our early check-in needs with frig running and a/c going. Nice clean windows that really open.

Staff was accomodating and very helpful. An early checkin was arranged for both rooms I booked. When we left, I left my leather jacket in my second room. A member of the housekeeping staff came running out to catch me before I left the premises.

The HIE is nestled in a shopping center with Target and some other chain retailers. Not pretty views, but busy and comfortable. If I need to go to Clinton again, I will absolutely stay here, and would recommend that anyone else do the same.

Privately owned HIE.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kangabitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Room was a standard king.
Holiday Inn Express does an excellent job keeping their hotels uniform.
Room was huge, quiet, bright & very clean, with dorm fridge. Bed was very comfortable & sheets were clean.
Breakfast was great & staff was very friendly with lots of smiles from every employee. The entire building had that "new building smell".
I'll stay here again.

  • Liked — Located in a quiet area
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Favre440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Clinton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 9 in Clinton
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Clinton
Oak Tree Inn Clinton
#5 of 9 in Clinton
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fulton
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Clinton
Super 8 Clinton
#6 of 9 in Clinton
148 reviews
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Le Claire Riverfront - Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton
Address: 2800 S 25th St, Clinton, IA 52732-7205 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Clinton)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clinton is located in a newly developed business district on US HWY 30 and HWY 67. We feature many restaurants within walking distance such as: Applebee's, King Buffet, Pizza Hut, and Burger King. Other local restaurants are within 10 to 15 minutes of the hotel. We have a micro-brewery downtown that features a wonderful selection of tasty treats. If you are in for Italian, Rastrelli's would be our choice. We also have a sports bar called Time Out, for those moments needed after a hard day at work or play! We offer high speed Internet, microwaves, coffee makers and refrigerators in every room. The Quad-City International Airport is approximately 30 miles north. There are plenty of activities in the Clinton area to entice the young and the old. Within driving distance you can walk the historic shops of Galena, IL or eagle watch at the lock and dam across the river. We have a variety of parks for picnics, or for the fitness minded we have two bike paths with a scenic view of the Mississippi River. Area businesses include ADM, Data Dimensions, Lyondell Equistar, and Rock Tenn. Come and enjoy a wonderful stay at our hotel, we will be waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Clinton Hotel Clinton
Holiday Inn Clinton
Clinton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing