We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza”
Review of Vitale Joe's

Vitale Joe's
Ranked #6 of 77 Restaurants in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Clinton, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Not fancy but the pizza is out of this world; Always packed but never any trouble getting a table. Hostesses are very friendly.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Go there”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Not overhyped. I had the stuffed meatlover's pizza. Sauce was great, I would be surprised if they didn't make their own sauce. The pepperoni was a premium pepperoni, a high-grade butcher-quality product rather than the average supermarket pepperoni found in most pizzas. I couldn't tell if the other meats were special at all. Crust was not soggy. I've had deep pizza in Chicago and the crust is often a soggy mess. Not here.

I thought something was wrong with the bill when I got it. It seemed way low. It was correct though. Hooray for small-town prices.

I don't really have a good reason to return to Clinton again, but if I do, I'm not even going to bother trying another restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrogertheshrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't beat it for stuffed pizza, west of Chicago”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Vitale's has been a staple of Clinton's cuisine for many years. Try the stuffed pizza. It's awesome.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thinktwice_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton IL
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our pizza spot for years”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have been going to Vitale's for years--generally every Friday night for their taco pizza and then sometimes during the week for their lasagne dinners. The food is tasty, prices reasonable, and the staff is all friendly.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Afficionados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Yummy”
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Pizza is the best but the spaghetti and lasagna are to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank campermomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vitale Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Vitale Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing