We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, smelly place - DON'T EVEN STOP HERE! STAY FAR AWAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Clinton
Muscatine, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible, smelly place - DON'T EVEN STOP HERE! STAY FAR AWAY!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived at the Regency Inn on Sat. about 6:30 p.m. We walked into a stench that was horrid. The carpets are filthy. The front desk clerk gave us our room key and we thought we would give this at least a chance to get better. After walking through hallways, passing boarded up rooms (literally plywood boards), rooms we could see into that were trashed, we finally got to our room. We opened the door, turned on the light switch. No light – I’m guessing the wiring is rather questionable as well. The a/c was hanging in 2 pieces. Seriously in 2 pieces. The carpet was filthy and it smelled like an ashtray. We had requested nonsmoking and 2 beds. The room had one sorry looking bed. The smell was indescribable.

We went back to the desk clerk. She suggested another room. This one with 2 beds and most certainly “nonsmoking”. We again walked down filthy carpets with every imaginable stain and smell. We got to the second room. The desk clerk flipped on the switch. Again, no light. This room did have 2 beds and between them was a large burned hole in the carpet all the way to the subflooring. It smelled so bad I would not have let my dog stay in this room. The a/c unit in this room had so much rust on it I’m sure it would have been a real good idea to try to turn it on. At least we are assuming this was the a/c unit – again hanging off the wall.

The desk clerk had no idea how to credit my account. I’m still trying to get this straightened out. We were able to get the last room at the Country Inn & Suites, which was lovely.

However, the most important issues are these – the wiring, the filth, the smell, the boarded up rooms, the a/c units in pieces.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Runningfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    0
    0
    21
See reviews for
5
3
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Run don't even consider staying here. So gross and terrible it's hard to even explain it. I can't believe it is still open for business. We had made reservations for 2 nights. We walked in to check in and they didn't have reservations for us and had no vacancy thank god. 2 cracked out ladies standing outside, the guy behind the counter was a felon I'm sure. There was loud music playing and the place smelled of vomit, smoke and something rotten. We ran out of the hotel and drove to the super 8.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriklere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clinton hotels

1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

DO NOT GO HERE!! I cannot believe this so called "hotel" is even open. There is no way it is up to code! It Is just terrible. We got there and there were people out side on drugs that just stared us down as we walked in. As you walk into the "lobby" there is a very foul scent, no furnature, loud rock music and the front desk looked just like a mess. Extremely unorganized? Thankfully they didn't have our reservations in the system that we made online so we ran out of there as soon as possible, but I'm hoping they didn't get my credit card numbers I wouldn't trust this hotel with my credit card numbers. Please for your own safety do not go here, unless your into drugs you'd probably fit right in and it wouldn't suprise me if you could purchase some there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Please! I beg you, Don't go there! Beds are badly stained, Bed coverings has burns ,torn and stains. It has smoke smells and old stale odors. The toilet chain in the bathroom had to be fixed THREE TIMES. Televisions show cloudy pictures and the rugs through out the hotel are stained.We went there for my Graduation and house keeping stole my daughter's phone. They need the building inspector QUICK!

Room Tip: The tip is, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

You'll be tempted by the low rate; don't do it! The pictures might make you think this could be OK; don't do it! Run and run fast.

At one time this was a very nice Ramada Inn, well, 20 years ago. Fast forward to today, where the pool is empty with an unexplainable stain at the bottom. Everyplace in this hotel smells like mold and mildew combined with cigarette smoke. There are a few who are living here because they're down on their luck and have nowhere else to go. I have to wonder if the fire alarm system even works as I saw a lot of loose wires.

There's a reason this hotel has no national branding anymore: no one would certify this place. The only chance this place has is to tear it down and start over. Until then, just drive on by.

Room Tip: Find another place for lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zipperiffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Regency Inn and Conference Center in Clinton Iowa is unbelievably filthy. The pictures and reviews on their website are completely deceptive. The carpets were wet, stained, torn and smelly. The windows were streaked with grime. The pool has been unusable for an extended period of time (no solid answer from staff). The sheets and towels are threadbare. The funniest :"ammenity" was a selection of 1/2 filled containers that were gooey and obviously contained a mixture of product. The complimentary "breakfast" consisted of packaged donuts or a container of unknown mixed cereals and coffee. None of the exterior doors were secured and the fire doors were propped open despite signage advising guests to keep them closed at all times. We were told that they were propped to keep air flow in the halls. I could not get access to the pool area or would have taken pictures of it. To top things off, the management was oblivious to the filth and general condition.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryvE1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepin, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Keep driving in any direction. This is a filthy hotel not worth the health risk. Please save your money and choose another property. The City of Clinton should be ashamed of themselves for allowing this property to remain open to the public. DISGUSTING!!!!

Room Tip: choose another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 502cheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clinton
Super 8 Clinton
#6 of 9 in Clinton
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Clinton
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 9 in Clinton
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Clinton
Oak Tree Inn Clinton
#5 of 9 in Clinton
27 reviews
5.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fulton
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn and Conference Center

Property: Regency Inn and Conference Center
Address: 1522 Lincoln Way, Clinton, IA 52732-7021 (Formerly Motel 6)
Region: United States > Iowa > Clinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Regency Inn and Conference Center 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Regency Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Clinton
Clinton Motel 6
Clinton Motel Six
Motel 6 Clinton
Motel Six Clinton
Regency Inn And Conference Center Clinton, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing