We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Service I've Seen in Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wildwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildwood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Service I've Seen in Years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a bit older, as some reviewers point out, but the staff is extremely friendly, the place is extremely clean, and they provide a wonderful breakfast that features something different each day. Omelets, Belgian waffles, scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, biscuits and gravy, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, pastries, juices, etc. the decor is outdoor, camping style, which is fun and out-of-the-box for hotel styles. The shower is large, the beds were comfortable. The indoor pool and whirlpool were spotless as we watched them clean the whirlpool. They spent most of the afternoon cleaning every inch if it. There were groups of ball teams in the hotel, but walls are thick. Only thing we ever heard was heavy footsteps above us. Appetizers and a free drink in the lobby 5-7 (or thereabouts), if you like. Very much a family atmosphere! Couldn't ask for much more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rednanIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    94
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
107
62
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Loved our stay here 2 nights for RAGBRAI (ride across Iowa) Day 3. This is such a nice departure from the usual chain hotels. I'd stay here again. The room was spacious and the breakfast was good. Right next door to Chili's Restaurant and down the street (driving) from Caribou Coffee. Would you believe it--it is not close to the airport, but with 24 hours notice they will give you a ride, should you need it like we unexpectedly did.

Room Tip: We could hear someone walking above us from time to time (not terrible, really!), so if that is a bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chariton, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have stayed here before, but it has been some time ago. The front desk staff service was very friendly and easy to tease. The value was off the charts for us as we were walk-in customers on a Saturday night with the hotel seemly quite busy. Included a comp breakfast at that.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the second floor away from the pool area. As a result, it seemed to be much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Really liked the woodsy ambiance of this hotel in the lobby and common areas. Rooms were big, decor could use some updating but still very comfortable. Bathroom was nice - great counter space. Anything you want is within a mile of the hotel. Hop on the Interstate to go anywhere quick. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk8uwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were in Des Moines for an overnight stay...this location had a good deal on rates. Room was clean, comfortable. Pool is small but kids had a blast. Location is close to everything. Check in and out was quick and easy. Hotel was very busy but we actually had the pool to ourselves for a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshalltown, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Not a bad hotel. We rented the hot tub King room for a little get away. We checked in around 4pm in the afternoon. Our room was located on the southwest side of the hotel. The air conditioning was not on when we got in the room, and it was almost 80 degrees in the room when we arrived. I moved the thermostat down to 72, and it NEVER caught up. The a/c ran all night long. Also, the hall a/c ran all the time too. The unit was pulling just over the top of the smoker's area, where ash tray was located. Our hall smelled of nicotine all night and day long. Nice to have a no smoking room, not cool to have the hall reeking of it though.

The room was clean and had a nice layout. The hot tub was nice to have in the room. There was a large chunk of wallpaper that was falling off in the corner, that appeared to have been taped on or lightly glued back on (water damage?). The soap dispenser in the shower was broken, and did not work the best due to the plunger buttons not being able to be depressed. The lotion and hand soap were mixed up in the dispenser next to the hand sink.

The breakfast in the morning was good. Oatmeal, scrambled eggs with bacon cooked in. Large assortment of pastries to choose from. Bagels, bread and english muffins to toast. Apple juice and orange juice for cold drinks with coffee and tea bags for hot. Dry cereals with milk. Would have liked to have seen a waffle iron there too?!?!?!?!?

All in all, first time I have stayed at the Wildwood Lodge in Clive, and probably won't go back for the hot tub suite. Don't think that what we got as far as the overall package in the room was worth the money. Had heard good things about the hotel from friends and business contacts, so I thought I would give them a shot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We found this hotel on a cross-country road-trip in May. I actually picked this hotel because I was hungry and this is right next door to a Chilis! We ordered carry-out and had dinner in our room - very convenient and a nice way to unwind after a long day of driving. The lodge feeling is all aroud you - but works for this hotel.
While we had an overall good experience - there was one unusual encounter at check-in:
We travel with our very small chihuahua and always look for pet-friendly hotels. This hotel is pet-friendly, however the front desk clerk advised us that we could NOT use the front entry to bring our pet into the hotel. What an unusual request that they did not want me to tuck an eight pound chihuahua under my arm to bring into the hotel - they wanted me to use the "back door." I didn't get the rule of going through the back door ... a pretty strange request.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
4.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Lodge

Property: Wildwood Lodge
Address: 11431 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildwood Lodge Clive, a unique lodging experience, conveniently located in West Des Moines at University Avenue exit off Interstate 80/35. The Wildwood Lodge features indoor pool with a raised spa and a waterfall, all beneath a beautiful three-story atrium. No matter the reason for your visit, you will enjoy choosing from an extensive variety of room types. Thanks to our great staff and beautiful space, our hotel is a popular destination for family reunions, wedding groups and sports teams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wildwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Clive
Wildwood Lodge Clive, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing