We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northwoods Ambiance in the Midwest”
Review of Wildwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildwood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Boonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Northwoods Ambiance in the Midwest”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you've ever been to the Stoney Creek Inn, it looks like the Wildwood Lodge is going by the same playbook. This Northwoods-themed hotel, owned by the same company that owns the famous Machine Shed Restaurant, was welcoming when I walked in the door. The general manager and I had an email dialogue due to some special arrangements concerning this trip, and he and the staff were very accommodating. The hotel was clean, well-lit, and well-themed. The rooms were adequately appointed and I got a good night's sleep on a comfortable bed. The value for price-paid was excellent - this hotel was about 2/3 of what the Hilton Garden Inn was going to cost.

The breakfast was typical of any business-class hotel. I enjoyed my stay here and would return to this property again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    97
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
108
65
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Came to this charming hotel for a simple overnight stay while passing through. What a nice find! Nicely decorated. Loved that they welcomed us with drink coupon for a free wine =). Our kids (6 and 4) loved that that the sliding door in our room backed right up to the beautiful stone pool/hot tub area (something to note if you don't want your kids to see the pool is to be sure not to get a room on the first floor that does this!). It also appeared that they had a few bikes to rent or borrow there, but our kids were not old enough. Nice breakfast, as well with lots of restaurants nearby to choose from. Would stay here again in a heartbeat if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CampoSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rake, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here after a tour of the Bridges of Madison County in Winterset. We thought this was one of THE nicest hotels we have stayed at and will definately go back. We have stayed at many hotels, but this one was top notch. Great pool, hottub and very nice breakfast. The area was convenient to many restaurants and easy to get to from I35.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriAnnRake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Calvary, WI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel is well decorated with an up north cabin theme which carries through from the reception area to the rooms themselves. Our room was huge: one room contained two queen beds, TV, chest of drawers, desk, and a chair, another room had two bunk beds, TV with a VCR/DVD player, chair, desk, and a chest of drawers, and we had a very roomy bathroom. The room was very quiet and we the beds were comfy. The hotel itself seemed older but well maintained and clean. They had a really nice pool area with a hot tub. The complimentary breakfast included waffles (they had FOUR waffle irons!) as well as hot oatmeal along with bagels, English muffins, cereal, fruit, juices, etc. The price was reasonable, and we would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_in_Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADISON
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

First time traveler to this hotel. I stayed here the week of June 9, 2014 for a business trip. Beautiful southwestern decor. The bed was great, good night sleep every night . The continental breakfast was nice, hot food was ready about 6:45-7:00am, wish it would have been ready at 6am.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLARKE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I've been there 3 times in 2 years and I always felt very well. Rooms are big and forniture well organised. Shower is huge for european std. Breakfast is exactly what you expect in US and fruit is super appreciared. Swimming pool is open nearly all day long. Very nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked four nights at this hotel based on it's online reviews, and frankly, I expected much better. As soon as we walked in the door, we were informed by a bunch of intoxicated guests in the lobby that the pool was closed. Okay, thanks for that. The lady who checked us in was efficient, but not friendly, and she did indeed tell us that the pool was closed for the next few days due to a kid getting sick in it. We went up to our room in an elevator that sounded as if it was in it's death throes. The room was okay, but the desk was very sticky and obviously had not been cleaned. It was kind of ironic, because there was an envelope right next to the stickiest spot, stating the housekeeper's name and suggesting that we leave him a tip. The mini-fridge was unbalanced - missing it's front supports or something, so i had to prop it up a bit with folded cardboard in order to open the door.

The breakfast the first morning was okay - again, not as good as expected. We were gone for the day, and when we got back, our hotel room door was open!!! We'd left a "do not disturb" sign on the door, so the housekeepers should not have been in there. It was a very unsettling experience, but nothing seemed to be missing. We notified the front desk, and they discovered that the housekeepers key had opened our door earlier that day, so they must have not closed the door securely when they left. They shouldn't have been in there in the first place because of the "do not disturb" sign.

The rest of our stay was uneventful. The breakfast each day was disappointing. Cold eggs, or no plates, or no forks, or empty food trays. It was always something.

Overall it was an okay stay, but take the excellent reviews with a grain of salt! It is an average place.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chemoangellaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
4.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Lodge

Property: Wildwood Lodge
Address: 11431 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325-7029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildwood Lodge Clive, a unique lodging experience, conveniently located in West Des Moines at University Avenue exit off Interstate 80/35. The Wildwood Lodge features indoor pool with a raised spa and a waterfall, all beneath a beautiful three-story atrium. No matter the reason for your visit, you will enjoy choosing from an extensive variety of room types. Thanks to our great staff and beautiful space, our hotel is a popular destination for family reunions, wedding groups and sports teams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wildwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Clive
Wildwood Lodge Clive, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing