We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home away from home set up!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildwood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
AZ
2 reviews
“Great home away from home set up!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We needed hotel that would allow accommodations to travel with and supervise a senior citizen (our father). This was the ONLY hotel out of about 14 I called in the area that would confirm we would have a suite set up with a sitting area, and connecting room All the others were based on if they were available. That room set up was a requirement for our trip.

Wildwood was perfect for this set up- we got the family suite with a separate king room, sitting room and connected to a double queen room. We had 2 baths in this set up, the father got his own sleeping room and the rest of us had very comfortable beds.

The sitting area was great, as we had an apartment like set up- but didn't need a kitchen to cook! Hot breakfast was tasty and made the morning easy. One morning we even brought breakfast to the room, as there was a small kitchen table too.

A plus to our group with varied palates were that there was an assortment of other restaurants within walking distance- whether we needed a quick snack or a sit-down dinner, we didn't have to pile into the cars to leave. Several great choices within feet of the front door.

A special shout out to the staff from the weekend, as we invaded the dining space for an evening get together with family and local friends. The space that would have been used for breakfast was empty. This was so much better for our group than taking everyone out to a restaurant. Some people were able to swim, others just chatted, we also used the sitting room in the suite for smaller conversations. It was the perfect scenario for the type of family get-together we wanted.

Pluses for us- the value of the room layout was priceless, actual price was a great value for what we received!
Great lobby!
Minus- small one- asked for an extra blanket in the late evening and never received it.
Showers were awkward, I would not let the senior citizen use the shower, as the positioning of the tub/shower floor was not accessible for him. There were no grab bars, and the floor of the tub was higher than the floor of the bathroom, so the step out would have been very dangerous to him. Granted this was not an ADA room- but it was odd even for the able-bodied members of our group.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSueAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    94
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
106
62
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed here for several nights during the USA Jr. National Track Championships. We had our family of 5 in a family suite, and a couple in a separate room. Very comfortable! Good sturdy mattresses, good air temperature control. Plenty of parking, clean and updated lobby and rooms. Nice buffet breakfast in the morning. Adequate pool and jacuzzi (the little kids seemed to love the pool the most, but my older kids were able to relax there). Very helpful staff. My only complaints were: the hair dryers sounded like they'd blow up in your hand and didn't dry well, and the exercise room had only 2 pieces of equipment (one broken) and no weights.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacaytaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

As stated in other reviews, I generally stick with the "chain" hotels. We were going to be in the West Des Moines area for 3 nights and I didn't want to break the bank. We got 2 rooms, one with a Jacuzzi tub, and they were PERFECT! Very cute "lodgy" fishing/paddling theme. Immaculate....roomy....quite....comfy beds..... My only disappointment was that they didn't have guest laundry. Not a big deal, but worth mentioning. The desk clerk did offer to allow us to use the guest laundry at one of their neighboring properties, which I thought was a very nice gesture. Overall, great stay....highly recommend it. Don't be afraid to try it just because you've never heard of it. :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

The place felt like a lodge in Northern, Minnesota or in Canada. Warm, pleasant and accommodating always.

Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Csaba-Laszlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

I recently attended a convention in Des Moines. We stayed at the Wildwood for two nights. The beds are very comfortable as are the pillows. The free breakfast in the mornings were wonderful! One morning there was sausage gravy and biscuits, scrambled eggs, cereal, muffins, bagels, toast, juices, hot chocolate, fruit, etc. The next there was make your own Belgian waffle, cereal, muffins, toast, bagels, etc. The pool area and hot tub looked very inviting but I did not use them. The ONLY drawback was we had no hot water in the evenings. The best we could get was lukewarm. The front desk offered to move us but by the time we got back in the evenings we didn't care. In the morning there was plenty. We had a block of rooms on the 2nd floor, I don't know if that made a difference or not. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaDisneyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed here during a driving holiday across the States and really enjoyed it - our only complaint is that we could only stay for one night! We had driven from Casper, Wyoming to Des Moines in one day (around 800 miles) so we were in need of some pampering when we arrived and we certainly got it! The hotel is in a nice area surrounded by lawns and is next to an Applebee's and a Chillis. It looked really good from the outside and just got better as we walked in - the lobby is lovely and really well decorated. There are loads of sofas and comfy chairs by the huge fireplace to relax in and the whole decor is fun without being too over the top. We were told by the friendly staff when we checked in that we could come and have a free drink in the lobby anytime that night which was such a nice touch and invited to enjoy some free nibbles before 7. Our room was lovely - we had a jacuzzi suite which was spacoius, airey and super comfy. The jacuzzi bath was big enough for 2 and spotlessly clean. We headed to the pool area which was really nice - the pool and hot tub are inside a huge atrium style area so you can relax in the water whilst gazing outside. Again, the pool/hot tub was perfectly clean and the hot tub had a great whirlpool function with bubbles which we loved! We took our free drinks sitting infront of the fireplace with the other guests which was really nice then headed out to the Applebee's for a meal and some more drinks. Unfortunaltely we missed the complimentary breakfast as we decided to sleep in (the bed was very comfy!). Overall, we loved this hotel and if we're ever in Des Moines again we will be staying here as it was absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireMash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Awesome pool for a family, great family hotel. We stayed here with our four children, had a roomy suite with a large bathroom. Plenty of room for us and family to visit. Wide variety for breakfast items to feed many different tastes. Service was excellent, brought extra pillows from the pillow menu to our room promptly. Seems like at least a three star hotel. I highly recommend this hotel and have to many friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpencerMom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
4.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Lodge

Property: Wildwood Lodge
Address: 11431 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildwood Lodge Clive, a unique lodging experience, conveniently located in West Des Moines at University Avenue exit off Interstate 80/35. The Wildwood Lodge features indoor pool with a raised spa and a waterfall, all beneath a beautiful three-story atrium. No matter the reason for your visit, you will enjoy choosing from an extensive variety of room types. Thanks to our great staff and beautiful space, our hotel is a popular destination for family reunions, wedding groups and sports teams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wildwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Clive
Wildwood Lodge Clive, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing