We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican food and margaritas”
Review of Mi Mexico

Mi Mexico
Ranked #3 of 70 Restaurants in Clive
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food and margaritas”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Mi Mexico is the only place we go for Mexican food!! It is consistently excellent quality, portion and the prices are very reasonable. The bean dip with the chips are always a hit. The original margaritas served in a shaker glass are the best!!! You should only have one unless you have a designated driver!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breck53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    50
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Originial Margaritas”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

They are known best for their original margaritas! The service is outstanding along with their menu! I frequent this restaurant and finding that the community is also as the wait to be seated is taking longer! In my book, that is a good thing! You won't be disappointed

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best margaritas in town”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The margaritas here are fabulous and the service is outstanding. They have a sister restaurant in Bellingham, WA and the tradition of great service there was duplicated here. Oh! The seafood enchilada is mouth watering. Gorge and Rose, you were wonderful host(s) (during my extended stay next door). Gracias

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gonein321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Flair and value”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A nice place for a unique margarita. Great food, attentive service and a comfortable atmosphere. A full bar with TVs to watch the game and a patio for when the weather is nice. Try the Camarones en Crema!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
300 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I dined here while in Des Moines for a conference. I enjoyed delicious fajitas, chips & homemade salsa, & a Wonderful Margarita in a metal blender container with a strainer! (it was like 3 drinks in one). The service was also very good! And a cute atmosphere. . . Bright Mexican colors! Very cheerful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mi Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing