We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One night business stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Country Inn & Suites hotels are usually more expensive than I would prefer to pay for short business travel. I found this one on Expedia, and jumped at it because of the location, and becaus my experience at Country Inn is typically great

No disppointments here. The location is good....service was top notch if not overbearing (sometimes TOO much love is too much, ya know?).....it's spotless.....wireless (my pet peeve) was free and fast......breakfast was fine.

Nothing to complain about. Any hotel around $100 per night of this quality will get repeat biz from me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    138
    58
    31
    13
See reviews for
251
89
10
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel was by far one of the best Country Inn & Suites Hotels that I have ever stayed at (in my opinion).
We were upgraded to a whirlpool suite because of our hotel rewards elite status and from the moment we arrived at the hotel until the moment we left, we felt valued as customers and did not run into any problems at all with this hotel.
(Any more it has started to feel like I expect there to be a problem when staying at a hotel, but this hotel has ended that expectation, thankfully!!)
This hotel has plenty of parking (free), is located off the interstate for easy access but is tucked back far enough so that noise was never an issue (and next to a QT gas station), the hotel inside and outside is clean and well kept up, the front desk staff was very pleasant, rooms are easily accessible by stairs or elevator, and there was even a group staying at the hotel but the sound never once was heard in our room. The room was super clean and spacious-both important parts of a hotel stay for the two of us.
The breakfast in the morning had SO many options. We enjoyed fresh fruit, waffles, french toast, bacon, muffins, yogurt parfaits, juice, coffee, and tea. There was more than enough food for everyone and the breakfast room itself was very spacious (We didn't feel like we were sitting with another table).

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the middle of the hotel, second or third floor, for easy room access and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Very nice, clean hotel with an easy check in. They had extras: always replenished cookies, which is hard to find with all Country Inns, and a makeup remover wipe. Very nice place to stay in Des Moines area. Would stay again, if traveling through.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KurlyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Service was not always good. Some employees at the front desk were better than others. The free breakfast was nice and tasted good, no complaints there. But I stay in a hotel expecting better beds than I have at home. Not the most clean hotel either. Pool was nice and large, but the deck was dirty. The room was fine, but the pillows were uncomfortable, and the bathroom really showed some wear. It needs some updating. I appreciated the microwave and mini fridge, but it was a little too small to store much in. I would choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianadlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Standard room with a micro-wave and small refrigerator. Facility was fine, staff was very pleasant. Family place, lots of kids, occasional noise from the hallway but nothing uncontrolled and nothing late at night. Breakfast was OK.

The only problem with the room was the desk set-up for working. It was very small and the "office" chairs were barely off the ground, designed for someone about a foot shorter than myself. If you are planning a heavy work session it isn't going to work well from that standpoint.

Wall mounted air conditioner works well but was noisy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel and we have been very pleased with this chain. This hotel was nicely furnished, close to the interstate in a nice part of town. Restaurants were close by and the room was comfortable. My biggest complaint was that our room was by a side entrance (main floor) and we could hear the door slam shut every time someone came in or left. Fortunately people didn't come or go late at night. I also had a problem connecting to the internet on my wireless laptop, the front desk person had their IT guy check it out and he said it was fine but I didn't have a strong signal so I think it was my location in the building. Front desk staff was very pleasant both in arrival and departure and the breakfast was excellent. I'd stay again but in a different room.

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms by the exits, Mexican restaurant across the parking lot is great, very inexp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed here for business. Good location with easy access to interstate. Clean quiet room.

Helpful?
Thank knsthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.4 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Address: 1350 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in western suburbs (Clive) of Des Moines. Beautifully landscaped property features one of the largest indoor swimming pools in the West Des Moines area. Extensive renovation in spring of 2012 includes many upgrades to guestrooms, breakfast room, public space and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West Hotel Clive
Country Inn And Suites - Des Moines West
Country Inn Clive
Clive Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West Clive, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing