We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drastic Improvements!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sterling Hotel and Suites
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Drastic Improvements!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I have been frequenting this Hotel for quite some time. The price has always been reasonable, even through the transitions of new ownership. The staff is always respectful & willing to go out of their way to help with what they can. I do know that I've had issues with the "maid department" (in the past), but this last stay was fabulous! My room was cleaner than it ever had been before, so whatever they are doing, they're doing it right! I believe the new owners have taken on quite a task with the remodeling, but it is making a huge diference already! There is nothing like a smile that will greet you at the door after being road weary! Thank you Sterling Hotel!

Room Tip: Splurge on a Penthouse Suite, they are phenomenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGrover1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    57
    35
    29
    39
See reviews for
103
38
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Sterling for a quick stop in Des Moines for one night. I enjoyed the stay so much I have already booked my next stay at this property. The front desk was adequately staffed and there was no wait checking in. The staff was very helpful showing me to the suite and answering a few questions about the area. New carpet and furniture throughout my suite was a pleasant surprise. I highly recommend The Sterling Hotel & Suites.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I checked in at Sterling Suites for an overnight stay in West Des Moines. I was greeted by an extremely courteous staff member, who also showed me to my room. The room was large and very clean, Clean is always the important watch word for me when staying at a hotel. The beds were comfy and breakfast was included in the morning. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice room at a great price. There were also several ammenities offered, that I didn't have time to take advantage of--maybe next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked numerous rooms for our daughter's wedding. We even stayed at the hotel two weeks before the wedding to make sure things would go smoothly. So many problems with this hotel especially the front desk and management ruined our daughters wedding night by not having their honeymoon suite as promised. Nothing arranged as promised. Terrible frustrating experience. This is the worst run property we have ever stayed in. Shabby rooms.hideous landscaping, nasty breakfast, terrible staff. A nightmare from beginning to end.

Room Tip: Go to any other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrybthtauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clive hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for several days during the girls softball world series this summer. Rooms are spacious though dated. We had minor leakage from outside wall during a rainstorm, and under the carpet from our in-room HVAC system. Dishwasher was broken and took 2 calls and 2 days to fix. General Mgr was pleasant. Front desk staff pleasant but forgetful. Nothing that would make us pack up and leave, but nothing that would make me come back either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Our most recent stay here was a great experience. We needed a larger room so we got a 2 bedroom loft and it was great. Lots of room, full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms and convenient location. The carpet was in need of replacement, but all-in-all it was a good experience.

We stayed here once before and it wasn't as good. The room was small and in need of attention. Vertical blinds were falling down. Couldn't keep light out d/t missing panels, plus privacy issue. Carpet was in need of replacement. Not a nice room in general. Hard to believe the two rooms were at the same hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwahlgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Lost many amenities - NOT the way to run a hotel. I have stayed here numerous times over 12 years and have loved it. Our August trip was a disaster since this is now Sterling and no longer Chase Suites. Maids tried to steal items from our fridge; swimming pool had water bugs in it and was closed for a time; TV remote didn't work, phone didn't work, wifi didn't work. No Des Moines Register, no hot tub, no "happy hour", no fresh fruit, no coffee creamer, no yogurt - we did not eat breakfast once there during our stay. Rooms not ready when promised, fewer cleaning people and more cleaners who were loud and generally not working. One night trash was left out and we had chewed-up rib bones outside our room the next morning. Good thing was the general manager took $35 off of our rate for half of our trip. Unfortunately we now must find a new quality hotel, unless these new owners get their act together. I am from Des Moines and visit family often in Des Moines so we are there several times a year.

Room Tip: Building 8 had no phone or wifi w hen we were there. It is also next to building where maids hang ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherbluesky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Property: Sterling Hotel and Suites
Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325-7031 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Hotel and Suites guests can expect excellent service and superior amenities. Relax in our spacious suites with the amenities that will provide both business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home. We include a complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed wireless internet service, on-site laundry facility and fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines
Sterling Hotel And Suites Clive, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing