We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Unexpected Space for great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sterling Hotel and Suites
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here 3 days around the end of April. I don't know if we got a deal, but, we got a suite with a kitchenette, a king master bed and bath room, and a loft with a full bed and own bath room for $80/night with AAA discount. The people on the phone booking were nice. We actually got charged wrongly for one night, but, the lady on the phone took care of it right away.

It's not the newest looking property and could use an upgrade, but, again for the amount of space, this would be perfect to stay with a family. Especially for the money. Each bed had it's own 25(ish) inch flatscreen TV and the living room area had a 42 inch with a pullout bed sofa and a nice chair as well. Also, the bed was very comfortable and almost seemed like it had a "topper" on it to make it softer.

Only other minor complaint is that it is a little noisy if you are by the interstate, so request a room away from interstate. All in all, excellent property for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from interstate. Loft room would make for a great stay if you have an entire fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

I been here multiple times and each time things are better. Wifi worked well, outdoor pool looks good, room was big and clean, nice to have kitchenette so I didn't have to eat out all the time.
Easy to get to and from the interstate, with nice restaurants close by.
I'm sure I'll be there again.

Room Tip: They are remodelling - so ask for a room that is already done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on a cross country drive, was very convenient to highway and great price. Ended up with a studio suite which appears to be in a complex that appears to have been all apartments or possibly lower end timeshare. Units all have full kitchens and closets, utilities in the kitchen like silverware and dishes, dishwasher, etc. Quiet, comfortable and clean. Outdoor pool, breakfast, etc. A little older but no complaints. And all this for less than most any other hotel in town. Can't beat it

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank laker1rn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem! Inexpensive, high quality finishes, easy access, with a great location. We arrived late and they accommodated our late arrival which was awesome. The front desk attendant was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed for 2 days April 2014. The place is older, so it doesn't look great on the outside .... but my room had been renovated, so it was clean and had modern appliances - yes it has a full kitchen. The bed was very comfortable, and there was a sofa bed for the kids if I would've had them along. It is close to the interstate, so there was a lot of road noise but that also means you can hop on and get anywhere in minutes. I didn't have the breakfast so I can't speak to that. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room opposite the interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryGarcia4295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysia H, Director of Sales at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear jerrygarcia4295,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with the Sterling! Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I greatly appreciate the honest feedback in reference to the bathroom area of your suite. We are constantly working to fix any shortcomings and I will address your concerns with our maintenance department.

We hope to see you again very soon during your next trip to Des Moines!

Sincerely,
Krysia Hannam, Director of Sales
khannam@sterlinghotelandsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I just spent one night here as we came into town for a concert.

The hotel is definitely an old hotel. They have clearly put lots of money and effort into it recently to bring it up to par. Our room had a small kitchenette, couch, 42" flatscreen, nice bed, and bathroom. The bathroom was my only complaint of items that need work. Simple things like re-caulking the bathtub and repainting need to be done. Other than the bathroom, the room was very nice and up to date. The hotel is in a great location, had a breakfast, and a pool.

The staff was very friendly and helped us with some directions and recommendations.

We paid $79 in Des Moines area and that is not bad.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysia H, Director of Sales at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Richard M,

Thank you the review, we are incredibly happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are always appreciative to learn what area of improvement we have and will continue to strive for total satisfaction.

We sincerely hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Krysia Hannam, Director of Sales
khannam@sterlinghotelandsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

While the suites are spacious and remodeling is in progress, the rooms need to be deep cleaned, the towels need to be white (not dingy grey), and the breakfast needs some eggs, not just ALL carbs. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was free and open. Easy to return to freeway.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysia H, Director of Sales at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We are so sorry to hear your stay could have been better. We are continually working to improve our hotel and greatly appreciate the feedback. We have recently made management changes in our housekeeping department and are looking forward to great results.

I sincerely hope you will try us again during your next trip to Des Moines! If there is anything I can personally do to make up for these shortcomings please do not hesitate to reach out any anytime.

Sincerely,

Krysia Hannam, Director of Sales
khannam@sterlinghotelandsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Des Moines West, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325-7031 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Hotel and Suites guests can expect excellent service and superior amenities. Relax in our spacious suites with the amenities that will provide both business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home. We include a complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed wireless internet service, on-site laundry facility and fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines
Sterling Hotel And Suites Clive, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing