We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
West Jordan, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We arrived in the afternoon for our one-night stay. The front desk clerk was extremely helpful, and recommended a nearby Mexican restaurant (great food, by the way).
Two queen beds that were very comfortable, excellent air conditioner, and an evening social hour that included free beer/wine/soft drinks. The breakfast was good, fairly typical of a Best Western. Didn't use the pool but the facility looked clean and inviting.
I'd stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    136
    45
    23
    13
See reviews for
146
107
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The hotel was clean, comfortable, and conveniently located within walking distance of restaurants and a gas station. Check in and out were flawless and the room was nice. The breakfast wasn't fabulous, but it was decent. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My family stayed here on our last day on the road from a trip to Yellowstone. We were just looking for the regular Best Western motel, but what we got was much more. Upon arriving, we were welcomed to the "social time", which included free beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres. Our room was well-appointed and had quality furnishings. The hotel was nice and quiet, even though it was totally booked for the night. Breakfast was good, with the added bonuses of omelets, cappuccino and a free USA Today paper.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegoodguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaczusia, Manager at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear thegoodguys, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at my property. We provide the social hour in order for our guests to get out of the rooms, socialize, play games and also find out a little bit about each other and about our area. It provides an enjoyable experience enriched by meeting fellow travelers. I hope to see you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Nice freebie amenities and it was advertised as regularly $140 but was on sale for almost half that .. so it looked great on paper!!! When we arrived the Hotel had a distinct odor, the rooms were dated and we found (and got bit by) bedbugs!!! Yuck!!! Regularly $140??? who would pay that for that outdated dirty room??? Don't trust the marketing! not as advertised at all. Pay the extra few dollars and stay in a clean hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk8uwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaczusia, Manager at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest. Since you chose to slander my property online you have to forgive me for choosing to defend myself with facts. When you made a reservation for your two rooms at my property you had selected a third party to conduct the transaction. That third party had booked two regular rooms at my property and we held the reservation until your arrival. When you arrived you requested a free upgrade to suites and when those were not available you were clearly not happy. Less than an hour after checking into the rooms you chose to leave my hotel claiming of having found bed bugs in the rooms. We promptly inspected the rooms and found that the beds were not even disturbed! Bedbugs would not be able to bite you during your brief stay in the hotel, they are nocturnal creatures active by night and dormant by day. They do not fly or jump at you so it would be impossible for them to hurt you during that time.
Upon your leaving we checked your room completely and we did not find any bedbugs. In fact your room was not even disturbed, beds, bathroom etc. We took it apart piece by piece and spent a lot of time and effort to prove to ourselves and the online community that your accusation was baseless and slanderous.
If you are not happy with your reservation or if a third party misrepresented what you were getting then we can gladly accommodate a change in the reservation in order to make it up, we will not, however, be blackmailed by such unsubstantiated and slanderous accusations so you can have your suites.
We hold our reputation dear and we hope that a fair representation of our services can be ascertained from truthful reviewers on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night. Had 2 rooms. One room was a 2 queen standard and was just fine. The other was a 2 queen suite (room 203) and the air conditioning was not working. Asked the staff 2 times about any relief and finally got suggestion to try another hotel without a refund. Finally went out and bought our own window fan just to be comfortable. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2crop71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaczusia, Manager at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear luv2crop71, I am sorry that during your stay you encountered the faulty air conditioner. That night we were completely sold out and unable to move you to another room. We have since replaced the unit and it is now operating faultlessly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Woods, California
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The price was so right, how can you not stay there?

The staff, especially Cathy, who goes the extra mile for the guest, are very friendly. Casey's knowledge of the area is superb! He can tell you where to find the best burger.

There are many amenities at this hotel; automatic doors, pool, hot tub, free hot breakfast; manager's reception which consists of beer, wine, chips/dip, Sarpino's Pizza, Pepsi products, chocolate chip, and sugar cookies. It's a great experience all around.

Room Tip: Corner suite looks over woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishtomato19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaczusia, Owner at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for those kind words of praise for my staff, your review will reward my employees with recognition of their efforts in making every stay the best that it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Good stop between Denver and Chicago. Clean, easy access from highways. Gas, Wendy's, Mexican and Italian restaurant in walking distance. Double wide stairway on west end made for easy in/out with our dog and luggage. Elevator is the slowest in the city according to the pizza delivery guy. Nice little office park so there was a choice of grass or pavement for walking the dog. Be aware that there may be loose dogs on the walking path through adjoining residential area. We stayed here on both sides of our visit to Chicago. Cold and hot breakfast options but there was no water or ice for someone who doesn't drink juice or coffee. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaczusia, Owner at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words in your review. I will share those with my staff to encourage them to keep up the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Address: 1450 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clive
Clive Best Western
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites Clive, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing