We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our home away from home”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We always feel welcomed when we stay at this hotel. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are such a good value for the amenities. The only sticking point was the hotel's indoor pool. The heat needs to be turned up a notch or two. Too cold to swim. Spent time in hot tub. Only hotel we would stay in during our trip though. They are replacing carpet with hardwood floors. Will be exciting to see finished upgrade. From hotel's location, you can get anywhere in a short time. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    128
    42
    23
    13
See reviews for
135
102
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel at the beginning of a 10-day road trip. Lobby area is homey. We had a spacious king room with a nice bath, along with a microwave and fridge. Everything was clean and comfortable. The hotel is located conveniently, near the Interstate and restaurants. Blackout drapes worked well. Plenty of choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaczusia, Owner at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Colorado Traveler, thank you very much for your kind words and acknowledgement of our efforts to provide a great accommodation to our guests. Come back anytime and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were travelling between Kansas and Illinois and wanted a mid-point stopover. The Best Western Plus turned out to be an excellent place to stop. We had a Jacuzzi King Bed room. The Jacuzzi worked very well - we used it at night and then again in the morning. The full breakfast was very filling with some good choices. The hotel was very well-kept and the staff was very nice and friendly. The area has some good restaurants to help with picky eaters.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naperlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaczusia, Owner at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Naperlynch, I am glad you found my hotel convenient and friendly. We realize the value of a friendly face and a helpful attitude after a long day on the road and are very grateful for your recognition of our efforts. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Wonderful, new, clean hotel - outstanding staff and rooms. Great breakfast, too. The pool area was large and bright, the fitness room was well equipped. In room internet worked just fine. The room was beautiful, and included a jacuzzi tub.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Secluded quiet motel, but easy access to freeway...very good staff, nice breakfast, and well appointed room. Convenient to various dining establishments. All in all a very relaxing stay...highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaczusia, Owner at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you Doug for a nice review of my property. As you pointed out the location couldn't be better as we are right at the intersection of the two freeways yet, quiet enough to get you a great night's sleep. Thanks again and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a hotel near, but not directly in the flight path, the Des Moines Airport. Friends recommended this property just off the Interstate in Clive. This is a no frills property. Independently owned & operated and not really associated with the Best Western franchise. I didn't get "hotel points" (credits) which was disappointing. The owner's wife was at the front desk and told me there was no room service and no on-site restaurant, so I ended up finding a mini market at a nearby gas station. The room was clean and the bed not uncomfortable. Plenty of hot water & fresh towels. The TV worked and that's about it. Probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonna2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed for one night during a cross country road trip.This hotel was not directly off Highway 80 and was a little hard to find.

It is very close to a main drag with restaurants, coffee shops, banks, you name it. So points there for a good location.

The front desk clerk was friendly enough, but didn't seem too enthused to be working.

No problems at all with my reservation, and the room was exactly what I had booked.

The room itself was just ok. The size of room was the best part about it. It was huge. The carpet, however, seemed really dingy and dirty and the room stank like stale cigarettes. The furnishings were old and kind of beat up, the beds weren't as comfy as previous Best Western's and the bedding itself was questionable. The bathroom was clean, but again, looked old and seemed forgotten. It also was one of those bathrooms where the shower and toilet were in one room and the sink and vanity in another which is not only a personal peeve, but inconvenient.

The breakfast was decent - the usual fare. Waffles, coffee, cereal, fruit and yogurt. The eggs and bacon left something to be desired, but there's plenty of other choices to fill you up. The room is *right* next to the pool, so expect to smell chlorine the entire time you're eating.

All in all, it was a decent place to stay at a reasonable price but I wouldn't book there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelStar104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur G, Manager at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear TravelStar104,
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. We are pleased to have met your needs and we are sorry we did not provide enough "Wow" factor to earn higher marks. We are glad we were able to provide you with a good value and comfort for your stay but we are sorry we were not able to thrill you with our room layout, design issues or breakfast choices. Given limited options we are not always able to accommodate all tastes. I am not sure what chlorine smell you were referring to at breakfast as our pool is one of the few in Des Moines that does not use chlorine at all, but uses only natural salt. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we wish you all the best in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.3 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#9 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Address: 1450 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clive
Clive Best Western
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites Clive, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing