We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
241
151
48
27
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
151
48
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssocial hourdes moinesmeatballsreal plateshappy hourclean roomsrefrigerator and microwavewould stay here againhot tubeasy accesslobby areacomfortable bedwafflesgreat place to staygreat roomfront desk clerkconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The bed was awesome, so comfortable that we both slept in. Unusual for being on the road. The room had a separate whirlpool tub, fridge, microwave, 2 TVs and sofa. Breakfast was adequate. There is a great Mexican restaurant within a very short walking distance. We needed the walk after traveling all day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaczusia, Owner at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Ann, I am so glad you enjoyed our bedding and no need to feel guilty about sleeping in :)
I am also glad you discovered the El Rodeo restaurant in our vicinity, it is a locally held secret that it is the best lunch place in town. In fact lunchtime traffic to and from it is such that we have to wait through repeated lights to get out onto University boulevard. We hope to see you again and bon voyage to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Located off University avenue just north of the Cracker Barrel. Very friendly check-in, very clean rooms and quite spacious. Weeknights have a happy hour from 5-7PM with very good pizza, nachos with melted cheese and salsa, pretzels, honey roasted peanuts, wine, beer and pop. Bed was very comfortable, slept well. Breakfast was waffles, fruit, frozen omelets to be put in a microwave, biscuits and gravy, sausage that looked rather pale-did not eat, yogurt, milk and juice. Only downside was the bathroom painted brick red which made it rather dark in the room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmasheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaczusia, Owner at Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Gmasheri, we are glad you enjoyed our social hour which has been the trademark of our Best Western for over 6 years now. We find that giving the guests an opportunity to get out of the rooms ans socialize greatly increases their satisfaction with our hotel and their mood overall.
Happy travels and hurry back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a clean and comfortable room and nice breakfast. It was easy to access the internet, had no problems. I liked the clean shower and was able to take a nice long shower, very enjoyable. The room was quiet, no running screaming kids were heard. I was too tired to swim, though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Todd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and toke a short trip to purchase a longarm quilting machine in Des Moines. First time to stay at this motel. Great place to get to Happy hour was fantastic after a 4 hr ride. Room was clean. The young man at the desk was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was great. Would recamend the motel to EVERYONE Thanks Myron K

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 474myronk474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great pre-pay price. All staff and amenities were great. Would definitely recommend. Continental breakfast worked great for this type 2 diabetic. I travel 30 - 40 days per year on business and another 20 to 30 days per year for leisure. Of note: We travel by motorcycle as much as possible, while not on our bike for this trip we did notice that the staff was courteous to motorcyclists that stopped. This is a big thing for me!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews