We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vegetarian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cool Basil

Cool Basil
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Clive
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Council Bluffs, Iowa
2 reviews
“Great Vegetarian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I ordered the Basil Fried Rice and the Vegetarian Cashew spicy and asked them to make it 6 stars and it sure was spicy. The place was quiet busy on the weekend and had to wait 25 minutes to get the table. You can tell a lot about the place by seeing how busy it is. I knew before I had dinner that the food would be excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and Great Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I ordered the Chicken Cashew spicy. It was just the right amount of heat. Everyone found something to eat to their liking. The treat was the Thai fortune cookie. It came with some witty fortunes and lucky numbers. It was a fluke we found this place. If I ever come by Iowa, I will look for this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best tai food in Des Moines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

A friend of ours took us here several months ago and now we can't stop eating here. Thus is some of the best tai food I have had. Appetizers are excellent and portions are nice.

The hardest part is deciding which item to order. We love the salads. I don't normally order a salad at a tai restaurant but these work great for a light appetizer or in addition to your meal. He dishes can be customized to the heat you like and you can add various different meats and seafoods to any dish.

The variety is great, you will not be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I used to live in Iowa and was a regular at Cool Basil. My wife and I were particularly fond of their curries. On a recent visit to Iowa we ordered carry-out which included green curry. When we opened our order the rice was missing, requiring a return trip to the restaurant. When I arrived to get our rice it was cold leading me to believe it was prepared with our order but not placed in the bag with our other food. The curry was good, but the ingredients had changed from what we had been accustomed to on previous visits to Cool Basil. The green curry included potatoes and tomatoes which we had never had in any green curry before. Our crab rangoon appetizer was cold and tough thanks to the delay in getting our entire order. We'll probably go back at some future date, but inconsistency is one of our leading complaints about any restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Thai and sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at Cool Basil and we really enjoyed it. We did not have reservations on a Saturday night but the wait was not that long. We loved the food and had great service throughout the meal.

I was going to have my dish prepared "hot" and our waiter talked me out of it saying that their medium is already hot. I am glad he did, because my stir fry was very hot and I am afraid I would not have been able to eat it if I had gone with my first request.

My wife is not much for Asian food, but she really enjoyed the Basil chicken stir fry and would have it again.

The portion sizes were very generous and there was plenty to take home. We definitely will return for more great food in the future.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkM36364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cool Basil also viewed

 
West Des Moines, IA
 

Been to Cool Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing