We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean, convenient highway respite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colfax Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colfax Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
New York
Level Contributor
307 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, convenient highway respite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

After a day of driving from eastern Indiana, and a bit of Great Lakes' sightseeing, we were able to unwind in the pool and hot tub, use the WiFi in the room to check our email and have a good night's sleep. Just what the doctored ordered on a road trip.

The staff was friendly; the breakfast more bountiful than most for an expanded contintental breakfast. We were well fortified for yet another day of cruising along I-80.
A good stop if it fits in with your driving schedule.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PokeyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnia095, General Manager at Colfax Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed our pool and hot tub. I'm often jealous when I see our guests come out of the pool room so refreshed and ready to tackle the next task! Also, thank you for the breakfast feedback. We love the smell from the new blueberry waffles! This week we are sampling cinnamon for the first time! Always something new to look forward to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    13
    16
    28
See reviews for
35
19
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Right off interstate. Big room. King bed and sofa. Good buffet breakfast. Used travelers' coupon for a $50 rate. Outside Des Moines, so we avoided the work traffic in the morning as we took off for home in WI. Nothing much to do in Colfax- just a stopping over spot. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Use travelers' coupon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gogirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnia095, General Manager at Colfax Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your comments! We thoroughly enjoy hearing what our guests think of our staff and services. We take great pride in what we do and want each guest to feel right at home as soon as they walk through our doors! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

I need to start out by saying that when I checked in to this hotel it was after a 1200 mile / 16 hour solo drive. I was beat! Let me tell you, there are not many places to stay in the middle of IA...don't push it like I did thinking that there will be someplace just down the road!

I found the hotel to be very nice...it was clean and had a very comfortable bed. The room was laid out very nicely...and the hotel was quiet with plenty of parking. They breakfast was the standard stuff. Actually, this was probably the cleanest hotel I stayed in on my entire trip. Kudos to the housekeeping staff!

One suggestion...the hotel clerks should know about local amenities...I asked where to get food (it was after 11)...the clerk said there was a gas station down the road or maybe McDonalds might still be open across the parking lot. McDonalds was the only place nearby, and I really think the clerk should have known the hours...afterall, it's practically in the same parking lot.

All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnia095, General Manager at Colfax Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2011
Thank you for all of your wonderful comments! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay!

I will make sure to share your feedback with the staff, especially the housekeeping staff. This will make their day! I will also follow up with the front desk staff, to ensure they become more familiar with our local restaurant hours.

Thank you again for all of your feedback. We truly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

To the management: I should have posted this long before. We stayed 1 night going from CO to WI and will be back this summer. This is a well run Comfort Inn. Staff was fantastic even though several youth baseball teams were staying there. Both maintenance and housekeeping were top notch. Great breakfast with a large enough room to enjoy it in. Small pool - but aren't they all these days! Be warned, this is a small town with limited dining options not open very late. Arrive before 9 or eat before. The restaurant next door I cannot recommend after eating there - maybe try the pizza place downtown. Walk around downtown, they have a great little town here and a superb Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsiemers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnia095, General Manager at Colfax Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2011
We love to receive feedback from our guests! Thank you for taking some time to tell us what you think of our service!

We are very proud of our hotel and what we have accomplished! We also like to brag that we have the best guests, which is what makes our job so much fun!

I will definitely share your feedback with our team. They will be thrilled to see what you have posted!

We look forward to seeing you again!
PS: I would highly recommend trying Georgioz Pizza during your next trip. They have the BEST pizza, sandwhiches, salads, pastas and desserts! You won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

While traveling on a road trip to Yellowstone we stayed here on the way out. Stayed on the way back as well. Very reasonable rates and a friendly staff that is hard to come by. It is just at the I-80 exit but the road noise isn't a problem at all. The room was large enough, well appointed and appeared to be well maintained. We slept soundly both nights. The internet was both wireless and ethernet.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whichwaydidtheygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnia095, General Manager at Colfax Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
I would like to personally take this opportunity to say Thank you. Your thoughtful and sincere feedback regarding your recent stay with the Comfort Inn, is truly appreciated. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, as you were traveling to and from Yellowstone.
Thank you again! We are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip through our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed in this hotel for race week. We arrived from Indianapolis with a couple of days to spare before we had to go to work. This is a rural area so there isn't a lot right around the hotel. Colfax is a small town, not even a stoplight, but it had 2 restaurants. One was a pizza parlor and we did not eat there. The other was a locally owned family restaurant and we ate most of our meals there. It was a very good place to eat. They close at 8 each night and aren't open on Sunday. Even though they are supposed to close at 8, they remained open one night so that our race team could eat supper after the garage closed at 8. The hotel seemed to be new. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel staff was friendly. It is convenient to the Iowa Speedway at Newton.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pooh27361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

Staff was great, pool was great, clean rooms. We were between denver and chicago and needed a night stay, we were going to stay in des moines, but we decided to push a little further. Very happy we did. The night clerk was very nice and when she found we had a 3 year old, she wisely placed us with no guests in adjecent rooms.

Rooms and beds were clean, shower was clean, pool was clean. We're picky about our hotels, this was perfect for what we needed...

great breakfast as well.

  • Liked — Clean... Clean... Clean.
  • Disliked — If we could get it for free, that'd be nice... Price was fair.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ThreeZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnia095, General Manager at Colfax Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2009
Thank you for the wonderful review! It is always our goal to achieve 100% guest satisfaction. I am thrilled to hear your family enjoyed their stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colfax
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
12.7 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
12.9 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 9 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
8.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colfax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colfax Inn

Property: Colfax Inn
Address: 1402 N Walnut St, I-80 & Hwy 17, Colfax, IA 50054-9603 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Region: United States > Iowa > Colfax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colfax Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colfax Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Colfax
Colfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing