We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must-Go Place for Dinner”

Iowa River Power Co. Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 119 Restaurants in Coralville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Must-Go Place for Dinner”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

They have the best ambiance and scenic view seating in Iowa City - Coralville area. Their service is outstanding, and lots of food choices to select from. And, I must say that they have the best seafood selections amongst all the restaurants in the area. Additionally, their steaks are really good. If you visit this area (or if you live here) then you must go there to experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDP_Love_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    77
    39
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great View & Atmosphere; OK Food”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This restaurant is located right on the Iowa River with large windows providing a nice view. The building used to be an industrial building and many of the riggings are still present and provide a fun atmosphere.

The menu is on the pricier side ($18-$30+). Steaks are the main attraction. Meals are served with bread, salad, veggies, and starch side and were good portions. I wasn't really impressed with the duck (it wasn't bad either), but my husband's steak was cooked well and he enjoyed his meal.

We did not have reservations and it took two hostesses several minutes to decide where to put us... I figured the restaurant was full (it was a Friday night at 7 PM) and they had to really work to fit us in. This wasn't the case, there were at least a half a dozen open tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egersten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Reservations recommended”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

While the University of Iowa is in session, this place is usually very popular with parents visiting their UI student. Because of this, I highly suggest that reservations be made at least a day or two in advance. The view overlooking the river is the main reason we come here and have done so on several occasions. We stroll across the bridge and typically snap photos with our companions/family who are first timers. Now the food is NOT out of this world by any measure, but wholesome and flavorful. I must admit they serve the best martinis in Iowa City/Coralville.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoopnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent food great view”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Had a late dinner on Mother's Day. We really enjoyed the view. The interior is a little run down. Furniture could use updating. The service was good and the food ok. Overall a little pricey for the overall experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillySpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great meal for a wonderful occasion.”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Visited the Iowa City Power Co. Restaurant to celebrate my niece's graduation from law school. We were able to get a table with a beautiful view of the river. Service was a little slow because the place was packed, but the excellent food made up for it. I had the filet of beef and it was cooked perfectly. The waiter was the best! He offered us dessert, on the house, to make up for the wait, and the desserts are all homemade. We had a great meal for a wonderful occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delia527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iowa River Power Co. Restaurant also viewed

Coralville, IA
Coralville, IA
 

Been to Iowa River Power Co. Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing