We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent price, average motel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Coralville
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent price, average motel, great location”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have stayed here twice over the last six months. Checking in, the lobby area seems decent and kept up. The free coffee and breakfast area are OK. The room price includes a free continental plus breakfast and is a good deal (a little more than just donuts and yogurt.) The breakfast area could use an upgrade though. There is an indoor pool although I didn't use it. The vending machines are not fully stocked, maybe a quarter full and one of the ice machines on the first floor was broken, not a good sign of an up kept motel. The rooms are clean and very average. No bugs, no mildew, bathrooms clean. The rooms are decent sized, small fridge, flat panel TV with cable. Free WiFi. Area is well lit, right off the interstate. Walgreen's, Walmart, Target, numerous fast food and sit down restaurants nearby. The Coralville mall is right on the other side of the interstate. All and all a great location. The University of Iowa is 1 or 2 stops up the interstate, maybe a 10 min drive. if you are looking for a clean, cheaper motel that includes free WiFi and breakfast it's a good place. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would suggest a second floor room because you can hear the people walking around up above you. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane4033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    48
    47
    50
    58
See reviews for
125
52
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

As someone who travels a lot and stays in a lot of hotels, as well as used to work for one, I am very disappointed. This is my first trip to IA and while meeting a friend, we chose this property for our overnight stay. The desk clerk was not wearing a name tag and while he was friendly, he was very disheveled and was sitting while checking us in. Also, he said our room number at check-in, which is a very big security no-no. Especially on the heels of the Colorado theatre shooting, I would think they would want their guests to feel as safe as possible. Once we got to our room, we discovered that it wasn't as clean as we would want. There is dust all over the room, there is hair in the bath tub, build-up of dirt in the corners of the bathroom and around the toilet, and the sheets on the bed are thread-bare. 2 of the 3 plastic cups in the room were opened as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The hotel wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. Rooms could use an update. The price was about average for the area. Rooms were clean, staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was pretty good (waffles, eggs/sausage or biscuits/sausage gravy). The hotel is pet friendly for a small fee. For some reason we had to keep asking for extra towels as the maids would only leave 1 for a two person room. Overall not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Ne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I have stayed here 3 times in the last 2 months while visiting family members in the hospital. The check in has been great, the rooms have been good clean rooms and a decent breakfast in the morning. ( I wish they had some eggs)
I will be staying there again.

Room Tip: They give special rates if you are here for hospital visits, I call direct to the hotel for the rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcircleauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed here while traveling out west. Office staff was friendly enough. Hotel needs some work. Floors were dirty. You could actually see the dust line around the room. Bathroom dirty with hair. Shower curtain was moldy! We cancelled our return visit to this hotel and stayed elsewhere on our way back home. Plenty of other selections in Coralville.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Terrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Lake, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed one night while traveling through, and we were very happy with AmericInn. The hotel smelled very clean and fresh throughout, and the room and bathroom were exceptionally clean as well, with no spiderwebs, mold, or other issues. The bed spreads were white, which I find a pleasing change from all the horrible floral patterns used by many hotels. The room color was pleasing--three taupe walls with a contrasting cranberry red wall, and the art work on the walls, while generic enough for a hotel, was not displeasing to look at. The room size was good, and the beds and pillows comfortable. There was a mini fridge and microwave in the room, as well as an ironing board, all of which worked well. We had no problems with the TV and there were lots of channels. The free continental breakfast offered items to make breakfast sandwiches, a make-your-own-waffle station, various juices, milk, cereal, muffins, bagels and cream cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit, and a lot more. It was one of the best continental breakfasts I've seen at a hotel. We didn't use the pool area, so I can't comment on that. The hotel staff were friendly and check in and check out were easy and issue-free.
There is also an exceptionally nice Wal-Mart only a few minutes away, as well as a nice mall and many eating places for people who want to get out and do things, or need a few things they've forgotten.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nestofsparrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed here for two nights during a recent trip to Iowa City. I have stayed in this type of motel before in Ankeny. I didn't feel this one was quite as nice as the one in Ankeny but overall it was a good motel for the money. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast offered a nice variety with something different each day for the hot entree (eggs & sausage one day and sausage & biscuits the next). When I arrived, there was no one at the front desk and it took a while for someone to wait on me. They were courteous when they came out of the back room. I enjoy having a refrigerator & microwave in the room and that was a plus. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coralville hotels
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
2.7 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#14 of 21 in Coralville
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#5 of 21 in Coralville
165 reviews
3.1 mi away
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville
#15 of 21 in Coralville
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#12 of 21 in Coralville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Coralville

Property: AmericInn Coralville
Address: 2597 Holiday Rd, Coralville, IA 52241-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your AmericInn Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AmericInn Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing