We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U of Iowa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here graduation weekend-$200.00 a night for a small room, not totally clean and a very poor free breakfast. The staff were friendly. The bathroom appeared to have been recently been remodeled but showed poor workmanship. The AC/heat unit blew under the drapery. Overall we felt we were grossly overcharged for a poor quality room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chance s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Chance S.

Thank you for your recent review. I do apologize for the problems that you encountered during your stay with us. We usually receive rave reviews about our cleanliness, so your experience is a bit unusual for us. I realize that pricing can be an issue in the Iowa City area during special events such as graduation. Heartland Inn does it's best to provide a quality experience for all of our customers. Again, thank you for voicing your concerns. Your feedback will be taken seriously. Debbie Bullion, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I packed my husband and two sons off to the Heartland Inn sight unseen and they came back with nothing but rave reviews. For under $80 they had a big, spotlessly clean room with a king size bed and a roomy hot tub. The breakfast bar included a very nice, friendly gentleman manning the pancake griddle. Everything was well-prepared and well-stocked. The boys also enjoyed the clean swimming pool and the fact that it stays open until midnight. My husband said that he called to inquire about late checkout and expected some reluctance, but the desk clerk responded cheerfully, "Sure thing! How late do you need?" This kind of customer service is becoming more and more rare these days, but thankfully, it is alive and well at the Heartland Inn of Coralville, Iowa!

Room Tip: Room 216 ("Suite Dreams") has a big ol' hot tub and lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimissy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Jmissy10,

Thank you so much for the awesome review!!! I am so very happy that we were able to make your stay so fun!! We do strive to have a nice, clean and friendly environment for our guests. It is always very rewarding when we have succeeded in making our guests so very thrilled with their stay. The extended pool hours are very popular with families...keeps those energy filled kids busy!!
I will pass your compliments along to the staff. They will all enjoy the excellent comments!!
We hope to see you again soon!! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Best REgards,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent the weekend here as part of a group booking to attend an athletic event at the University of Iowa. As a result, we did not research this or pick it out ahead of time. We arrived to very friendly and accommodating staff..and ..fresh baked cookies. Our room was also clean, with everything functional within. It is obvious that this is an older establishment, by some telltale repairs in the bathrooms, and older carpeting. Overall, for the price, this is about what I'd expect, so no negative feedback from me on these points.
The location is excellent if you are going to be visiting the University - it is about a 4-5 minute drive from central campus. It is also very near the VA hospital, and the hotel advertises a free shuttle service to the hospitals in the area.
Overall, considering the price, and location, we'll be staying here again. I'm only giving 4 stars because of the telltale aging of the facility and obvious repairs .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chuck O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Chuck,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the postive comments on our friendliness and our accommodating staff. At Heartland Inn, it is all about the guest!! Our location is very popular with groups coming to the area and the restuarants we share our parking lot with are a positive as well. We have been updating recently, but we do have a few more items to update. The very best compliment that we could receive is knowing that you will come and stay with us again sometime in the future!! Thank you again for your review!!
Best Regards,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was a very clean and very quiet motel, we didn't get to our room until 11.45 at night the place was packed and u didn't hear a peep. the room was in excellent condition.i would stay again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Bryan,

Thank you for your great review!!! We appreciate the positive feedback!! It is gratifying to hear that you were 100% satisfied. It is also very nice to hear that you will stay with us again. We look forward to you seeing you again in the very near future!!
Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback, we appreciate it.
Best Regards,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I booked a room to stay overnight on business. I figured it's one night so why spend a ton of money on a room.. Big mistake! The Hotel claims 100% smoke free environment and the room reeked of smoke (This is posted clearly on the front door of the hotel). We even heard another person complaining about the smoke smell in their room at breakfast the next morning. Air conditioner was on when we entered the room and made the worst rattling noise ever. The bathroom door jam was broken and one had to pick the door up and push in to get it to close right. They used screws to fix the door jam that was broken, but that wasn't doing any good. The beds were comfortable but the Pillows are the flatest ever and they only give you two to a bed. Take your own shampoo unless you like your hair smelling like lemon pledge!! The continental breakfast was okay and was about the best part of the whole hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktrose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

ktrose77,

I do apologize for the problems regarding your recent stay. As you stated, we are 100% smoke free. Unfortunately and very evidently, some guests do not know how to follow the rules. Also, we certainly would have been most happy to move you to another room. We always encourage our guests to let us know if they have any problems during their stay. That way, we can correct the problem on the spot. We certainly would never expect you to stay in a room that did not meet your standards or was the least bit uncomfprtable. I do want to thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to let us know about yout your stay. Sincerely, Debbie Bullion, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I had spent 5 weeks at this motel, recently for medical purposes. Overall it was a good place to stay. The staff was exceptionally friendly and any problems were resolved right away. I had many late night conversations with one person in particular, Justin, as my sleep schedule was not a schedule at all. The shuttle driver, Rick, was very professional and courteous and was also very easy to talk to. My stay at this particular motel was by far one of the best of all motels I have stayed in over the years and in many different locations all across the US. I did not however rate anything above "very good" as I personally do not rate any business as "excellent". I hope that this does not give anyone the wrong impression as to what I am trying to convey about this particular motel. If I need to stay in the Coralville/Iowa City area again at any time in the future, I hope that I am able to stay at this location. I believe that it is well worth it and would enjoy being around the professional/friendly staff. Good job, keep up the good work and thank you for having been there, I truly appreciate it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dale,

Thank you so very much for your great review. It is very heart warming to hear that you had such a good experience with us!! I know that you have traveled extensively, so your positive ratings on our customer service and staff mean even more to us. I agree , Justin and Rick are professional and very friendly. We too enjoyed having you stay with us!! A guest like you makes our job very rewarding and enjoyable.
Again, thank you for the feedback. We strive to make our hospital patients as comfortable as possible. I am so glad that we were able to provde you with a pleasant stay.
We hope to see you again very soon...and hopefully under better circumstances.
Best Regards,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coralville hotels
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#7 of 21 in Coralville
173 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Coralville, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#15 of 21 in Coralville
472 reviews
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Inn - Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Inn - Coralville

Address: 87 2nd St, Coralville, IA 52241-2603
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range: £57 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heartland Inn - Coralville 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED, independent hotel located off of I-80 on the Coralville/Iowa City divide, the Heartland Inn is the closest hotel to both the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and the VA Hospital. We are just minutes from Kinnick Stadium, Carver Hawkeye Arena and the Coral Ridge Mall. Our hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from both hospitals and great hospital rates. We also offer shuttle service to and from reception venues in the surrounding areas. To add to our value, the rates include complimentary parking for bus truck or car, extended continental breakfast, wifi, and light evening meals Mon-Thursday evening. The Heartland Inn Coralville is a 100% smoke free facility with a AAA 2 Diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Inn - Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Inn - Coralville Hotel Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing