We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for her college orientation. It is close to the University of Iowa, and there were many restaurants right within walking distance for us. The room was a little small, but clean, and have a microwave and mini fridge. The staff was friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was above and beyond. Made-to-order pancakes and waffles (the first day was regular or strawberry and the second was regular or blueberry), cereal, fruit, bagels, toast, donuts, yogurt... the list actually goes on!

The only (slight) negative was the pool. It looks great in pictures, but in reality it is a little small and could use a coat of paint. But that wasn't enough to keep us from enjoying for an hour or so.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    57
    40
    13
    22
See reviews for
80
40
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Heartland Inn for 1 night on our way to Colorado. The room was clean & modern. Check in & out was easy & fast. The free breakfast was just ok. Decent place for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandSteve2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and i booked this hotel through Hotwire for a one night get away. The location is great (lot of dining choices and close to the mall). The hotel was very well maintained, the staff was extremely helpful, and the included breakfast was very nice.

The negatives are the pool is very small, the rooms are pretty generic, and the bed was below average. All things considered though, the property was nice considering the price we paid. We would definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfanny37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Booked with Priceline for lowest price. Got a suite with jacuzzi, which we didn't expect. The room was clean and very inviting. Only small complaints: the room was not ready at the 3pm check in (however, the reception attendant was very nice and even went to personally check on it) It was ready at about 3:45, plenty of time for us to go to a late lunch and return, it wasn't quite ready but was ready by the time we signed the reception paperwork, got our keycards, and got our luggage from the car. Also, there were no styrofoam cups for coffee, no biggie though I went and got some from the breakfast nook. Then the last very small complaint was from my husband, he likes fluffy pillows. I actually liked the pillows. When we checked in the receptionist told us about the 5:30-7pm special, which was ham and cheese sandwiches and cookies, and about breakfast (6-10:30am) and check-out (11am). Breakfast is a common midwest continental breakfast- pancakes, waffles (which you could make or have made for you) fruit, yogurt, instant oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, toast, 4 different kinds of bagels, cereal, boiled eggs, milk, juice, coffee, cappuccino. In the bathroom they have LUX brand for the hotel soap, shampoo, and conditioner. It smells wonderful and reminds me of citrus/lemongrass. Only downside was that there was only enough shampoo and conditioner for me (I have long hair). My husband brought his own anyways. We are nonsmokers and so is the hotel but the hotel did offer plenty off outside places for smokers to go. Our room overlooked the river and levee. What a nice view. The decoration of the room was very nice, no wonder it had taken so long to clean. The staff was very friendly at all times. The a/c worked very well. They were having work done on the carport but this did not create any noise or inconvenience for us. Large flat screen tv, microwave, iron, ironing board, blow dryer, coffee maker, and clean minifridge. Pluggins in the lamps for electronics and such. Plenty of pluggins! One thing we loved was the separate towels for the shower and jacuzzi! Room 234 is an awesome stay. It is close to restaurants, shopping, and also to many of the U of I athletic arenas.

Room Tip: Room 234 is awesome. Choose third floor for a better view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrystal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Iowa City for a sporting event or the University Hospitals & Clinics. We stayed here just passing through and it was perfect. Lots of local eateries and a drug store, which is all we needed for an overnight stay. Kudos go out to Jonathan who in the morning gave me great directions to the Delvian Fossil Gorge!! We found it just perfectly! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Just needed somewhere to crash for the night as we were passing through town. Arrived at 10pm staff was very friendly and they had a plate of chocolate chip cookies out. Hotel lobby clean and nicely decorated. Same for rooms. Hallways were a little stuffy and quite warm but it was crazy weather outside. Room was clean. The air conditioner was a little on the noisy side but appreciated that it did a great job keeping room to my comfort level. I'm a pretty light sleeper and it's sound didn't affect my sleeping. Grabbed a quick breakfast before hitting the interstate again. Lots if choices. A few of the "hot" items were barely even warm but we went down minutes after breakfast started and their crockpots must not have been warming up long for a few of the things. But was good. Again very friendly staff upon checkout. Think I paid $50 for the night they hotwire and for that price it was an awesome value......didn't look to see what regular rate it. Also didn't spend time in the area but it seemed like the location was close to a lot of things.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShiningStar0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#15 of 21 in Coralville
434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Coralville
Quality Inn Coralville
#9 of 21 in Coralville
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Inn - Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Inn - Coralville

Property: Heartland Inn - Coralville
Address: 87 2nd St, Coralville, IA 52241-2603
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heartland Inn - Coralville 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-80 on the Coralville Strip, the Heartland Inn Coralville is the closest hotel to both the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and the VA Hospital. We are just minutes from Kinnick Stadium, Carver Hawkeye Arena and Coral Ridge Mall. This Coralville hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from both hospitals and great hospital rates. We also offer complimentary breakfast, evening snacks and wireless high speed internet. The Heartland Inn Coralville is a smoke free facility with a AAA 2 Diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Inn - Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Inn - Coralville Hotel Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing