We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #21 of 120 Restaurants in Coralville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Whenever we travel we try to find a Steak n Shake. Excellent food and the prices are exceptional. Lots of $4 meals. The burgers are great and come with fries. You can substitute for mandarin oranges or coleslaw for no additional charge. The milkshakes are also excellent. Lots of variety and we never leave disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ImSewBlessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    7
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Predictable”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This place has great shakes, passable fries, and really poor burgers, overcooked and dry. We thought we'd try it, and kinda wish we'd made a better choice. Oh well, nothing ventured....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heartlandchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The food here is good”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We eat here a lot, as it is one of my favorite places, fast, clean, and their fries are always very crispy, and small like straws. We enjoy the food. Their shakes are very delicious. The funny thing about eating here, is twice my husband hasn't gotten his fries, but we tell them, and they go get them. It is a nice place for families.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscatine, Iowa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quick & Tasty”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The salty caramel pretzel shake is my new favorite! I always get the frisco melt...always a favorite. They now have different seasonings you can add to your fries. It was very busy, but the service was still fast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midwestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“On the Road”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Always like to stop at a Steak & Shake while on the road. This one had great service and the food was freash!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 
Coralville, IA
 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing