We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place for a beer and to watch a game” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpocket Brewery

Backpocket Brewery
Ranked #7 of 118 Restaurants in Coralville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun place for a beer and to watch a game”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I watched a Stanley Cup playoff game here with a buddy and had a very good time. The beer they brew is very good, at least dark variety I drank was. It looked like pizza is their specialty and the waiter said they grilled burgers outside when the weather was nice. The bar area was a little noisy due to the construction I think. So probably not a good place for alot of conversation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buktrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    40
    29
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“God Place for a Quick Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Good beer and pizza. Some salads and snacks available as well. A little too noisy because of all the brewing equipment/processing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allyson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good beer.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stopped at Back Pocket to try a few of their beers, and have a bite to eat. The beer was great, however, the food was not. We each ordered a pizza. There were only a handful of toppings, and they were all in the center of the pizza. The outside crust of the pizza was charred, however, the center was soft and gooey. I will come back for the beer, but next time, I will order something other than the pizza.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay
Level Contributor
164 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Beer ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Would give 5 stars if they had a full bar. We ordered several of their pizzas and the entire group enjoyed them. Some people in the group do not drink beer so we only stayed about 1 1/2 hours. Wine selection was extremely limited (i.e. one white, one red) so if you do not want to drink beer you may want to think twice about going here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Perfectly located near our daughter's wedding at the Marriott. I personally didn't make it there, but I understand the younger groups loved the atmosphere, and the beer of course.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backpocket Brewery also viewed

 
Coralville, IA
 

Been to Backpocket Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing