We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just yell "Hello"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just yell "Hello"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2007

Just walk in the front door of the hotel and try to check in. You'll notice a sign on the front desk that reads "Just yell hello." Well, we yelled hello several times and nobody greeted us. I finally called into the breakfast room and there the manager was apparently visiting with guests. He's a friendly guy, but not very alert for incoming guests.

And that's the basis of my so-so review. It was a clean hotel, but not worth more than the $89.00. The rooms were average in size and the breakfast was poor in comparison to other Country Inns I have stayed at in the past as well as the Coralville Hampton Inn.

If you are not a fan of sausage gravy and biscuits you are out of luck. Also, the advertised free tray of cookies (a great feature of all Country Inns) looked like a plate of soggy mini blueberry pancakes. Please raise your standards to the rest of the chain!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjengaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    96
    46
    26
    26
See reviews for
170
55
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2007

Stayed one night on a business trip. Quiet room on first floor. Everything clean and fairly new. Very good, comfortable, firm bed. Unfortunately, breakfast was poor. The waffle maker wasn't cooking the waffle fully despite two cycles. Hot breakfast was egg substitute with a few pieces of sausage or biscuits and gravy. No fresh fruit other than apples/bananas. No donuts. Would stay again if all I wanted was a clean, safe place to stay and didn't care about breakfast. I'll try the new Marriott next time.

  • Liked — bed
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IowaHawkgirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2006

Rooms are clean, hotel is good. No problems staying here.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank mitchmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2005

We stopped here to spend a night while driving back to Michigan and found this hotel to be more than comfortable, and extremely clean. Just over a year old everything is well maintained, and completely comfortable. I did not make a reservation and was easily accommodated. The desk clerk was also extremely nice and most helpful. My biggest concern is always cleanliness, and this one definitely met my expectations.

I must admit, after spending an awful night at a Holiday Inn Express in North Platte, I was very nervous and chose to check out the hotel after seeing it. I had tried to get reservations in Davenport but everything was booked and thus we stopped 50 miles west of Davenport.

This town (Coralville) is a gem. Extremely clean with all the restaurants, stores and needs anyone could ask for.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hasig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coralville hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#8 of 18 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
2.9 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Address: 2571 Heartland Pl, Coralville, IA 52241-2813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Coralville
Coralville Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing