We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Coralville
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would Stay Again”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have stayed in this hotel once before. Me and a friend were looking to get out of the hustle and bustle of downtown on Valentine's Day so we booked a room with a king bed and a couch area. The room was very well put together, maybe a little bit on the small side but it was the perfect size for two people.

The pool area is definitely one of the best in the area. Kids seemed to enjoy the waterslide and the hot tub was a very good size. My only complaint about the hot tub was that they need to block it off a little bit because when little kids ran by to go on the slide, people in the hot tub got a nice little splash in the face.

Breakfast was good, hot food and a lot of options, definitely could find something for everyone to eat. The staff were very nice and cordial. My only complaint was that we called down to the front desk to ask for an extra hour to check-out, they said it was okay and they would let housekeeping know. However housekeeping came and knocked on our door twice. Whoever it was didn't speak very good english and didn't understand that we had already talked to the front desk. It worked out in the end, the front desk called to confirm that we would be out by noon and we were.

I'd definitely stay at this hotel again, the rooms were well furnised and the bed was insanely comfortable!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    60
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
78
26
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After a very long day, it took the front desk to try 3 different rooms before they could get a room key coded to open the door to the rooms. It took over 45 minutes just to get in a room. One solution proposed was to use the front desk key to open the room with no option for the guest to leave the room and re-enter without the front desk opening the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We made reservations to stay at this hotel because my wife's parents are at a retirement center in the area, and from the outside this hotel looked fairly new. When we arrived at the hotel, we walked in the lobby and discovered it had been taken over by a mob of people for some sort of family reunion / party / pool party. There were kids running everywhere, and pots of food all over the lobby. With all this partying going on, I felt as if the lobby was practically off limits to the rest of the paying guests. It was downright awkward. At one point, I actually got hit in the head with a large beach ball that the swarms of kids were running around and throwing around. We finished the check in process and were off to our room.

At first glance on entering our room, it looked pretty clean. If you look closer, you could see, some updates and repairs definitely needed to be done. There were kids running around in the halls having squirt gun fights. It appeared that the employee who was on duty had simply given up on trying to maintain any control over the hotel or the chaos that was going on. I went back downstairs to find out if there were any newspapers available. I stood at the front desk for 10 or 15 minutes, and I saw no sign of any employees. The front desk employee had disappeared. The family that had taken over the lobby was continuing with their party, and now they were all singing. I guess it can be summed up by saying that if you want any amount of privacy or quiet, don't come to this hotel. The kids running in the hallways continued until about midnight, making it very difficult to sleep. We ended up having to crank up the fan on the in room heating unit to try and drown out all the hallway and adjacent room noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Road-Tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey E, Manager at Comfort Suites Coralville, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I am writing to you today regarding the experience you had at the Comfort Suites, Coralville. We take all of our guest feedback seriously and would like to assure you that total guest satisfaction is the goal of our entire staff.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are performing and what can be done to better meet your needs. The hotel’s management has reviewed your comments and our staff has received further customer service training/coaching to ensure a situation of this nature will not be repeated in the future.

Just to let you know we are doing an extensive upgrade to the hotel January and February 2014. We will be replacing all of the hotels carpet, wall paper, furniture, beds and linen.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out the review and hope the Comfort Suites will continue to be your hotel of choice in the Iowa City/ Coralville area.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to another opportunity to have you as our guest.

Sincerely,

Corey Eldridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed for an Iowa homecoming weekend. Next to an. I-Hop and very close to other dining and mall. Boarding for the Hawkeye Express train to Kinnick right out front. Pool and waterslide, continental breakfast. Clean. Prices for football weekends enhanced :(

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTrish49068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It is located close to a lot of restaurants and a large mall. If you like to run or walk there is a 3 mile trail right behind the parking lot. The room was adequate and clean ant the shower was excellent. Breakfast was the standard fare. If you do mind walking there is an IHOP next door and a Carbou coffee across the street. The only problem we had was the TV. Is stopped working due to a cable malfunction.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was the fifth motel we stayed in during this trip, it was clean the rom large. But it was also the noisiest. also puzzled about room arrangement. Yuo couldn't see TV from the couch only from the bed. And why bother with a motel breakfast when theres a IHOP right next door.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thos252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I can't give a full review (as I normally would) since we arrived late due to family illness and did not get to take advantage of the pool or anything. That being said, we did arrive very late and the man at the desk was VERY nice given it was the middle of the night and a game weekend. (usually everyone is a little stressed)
Our room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was full of towels which is nice when there are 5 of you and everyone needs to shower.
We will stay again as our children were really wanting to use the waterslide.
For a game weekend, the price was reasonable.
There is an IHOP next door so if you have late night food needs, that's a plus too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellis74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coralville hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Coralville

Property: Comfort Suites Coralville
Address: 2431 James St, Coralville, IA 52241-1245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Coralville Hotel Coralville
Coralville Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing