We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families with young children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Coralville
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed only one night, but will certainly return. The hotel was clean and service was excellent. Breakfast was awesome and plentiful. Pool was a bit cold, but nothing too bad. We had 5 kids in our party and it was an inexpensive get away that kept the kids and adults happy. Very close to the mall, which was also a great place to take the kids.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcy520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2008

I've stayed at a lot of Choice Hotels over the past 5 years or so. Normally, I have a decent stay without many bells & whistles.

This place though was exceedingly clean, the staff was as nice as could be, and the breakfast was excellent. What you'll normally see is a waffle maker and some fruit however they had omlettes, sausage links, and cinnamon rolls as well. It was an oustandingly diverse breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank molex77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

I have stayed here many times over the past year because we have a corporate account. The property is relatively new... but I notice more signs of aging each time I return. Overall it's a decent, affordable place. Not at all bad - but not great. Location is ideal: right across the street from tons of restaurnants & the Coral Ridge Mall.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lin-z-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

We stayed here for a few nights on our way to a family wedding. We had a great stay. This hotel is very new. The lobby is gorgeous. The stone fireplace is very inviting, and they had fresh cookies waiting. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful with ample seating. The best part - the pool and waterslide! Our kids, as well as us parents, loved it! This is not what you expect from a regular chain hotel, and it was a very nice surprise! Thumbs up for this hotel, the pool, and the waterslide. We will definitely stay here again whenever we travel through Iowa.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FlickTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We booked this hotel as one of our stops in our family spring break and had a very good stay. We stayed only one night, but offer the following review.

Good – the rooms had a good layout, fridge, microwave, clean room, and fairly good sound insulation, the waterslide was good, kids liked it and the main pool was warm, the breakfast was good selection for a Comfort Suites, good value for the price, close to the mall, shopping, and the interstate, Disney Channel for the kids.

Needs Improvement – the spa/hot tub was cold, actually colder than the main pool, more pool towels needed, ran out the night we were there

Note this hotel is next to the train tracks (you are only 3 car lengths from the actual tracks), if I were a light sleeper this would have bothered me more, but since the sound insulation is good I was not bothered much. When a train goes by it does shake the room some. So for a quieter room you may try asking for the non-train track side of the hotel.

Overall a good stay and good value.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_W_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

We have stayed at this hotel probably 8 times since it opened. The location is wonderful for Hawkeye football games as the Hawkeye Express train boards right out the front door of the hotel and takes you to Kinnick stadium. The Coralville mall is just across the street and easy to walk or drive to. There is a fairly decent breakfast buffet and the rooms are clean and roomy. The pool is large and has a water slide that kids love. However, every time we have been to this hotel, the pool water is freezing. I almost always call the front desk and ask them to turn up the heater. The pool would be much more enjoyable if the temperature was warmer. If it weren't for the location of this hotel, we would probably not return just for the fact that the pool is not enjoyable. If you don't care about the pool, the hotel is great. Not a lot of amenities, but it's a great value.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank travelsoften23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

I was here on business and brought my family. They all had a great time while I was working. The pool is great- water slide open for 3 hours in the evening and on weekends also three hours in the morning. The rooms were big even for a family of 4. The breakfast buffet had many more choices than other hotels I typically stay at including make your own waffles, fresh fruit, fruit salad,etc. This hotel is very close to a large mall and there's tons of things to do there including ice skating and a kids museum as well as the usual mall shops. There is also a walking trail right in back of this hotel. I walked about 2 miles - very nice. It would be great if you happen to bring a bike along.
Staff here was very friendly and available every time I went to the desk. Everything was working in the room, and all rooms have a fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coralville hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Coralville

Address: 2431 James St, Coralville, IA 52241-1245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range: £61 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Coralville Hotel Coralville
Coralville Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing