We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here while attending a nearby wedding and reception. Entire hotel was very clean and new. Nicely decorated rooms. The bar/reception area was large and inviting. Didn't have breakfast, so can't rate it. Beautiful outdoor area behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We booked a room at this hotel through travelocity for a football game weekend. I knew that we would be arriving very late that night so I called twice that week to tell them we were coming but would be there after midnight. I even called the night we were supposed to arrive at 7pm and I was told by the front desk "no problem, your room will be ready when you arrive.". So imagine our surprise when we arrived at 12:40 AM, exhausted from our long drive late at night that there were oversold and had been sending people to other hotels all evening! They ended up having to put us up in the comfort inn, which was on okay hotel but by no means as nice as the Marriott. The guys at the front desk also told us that in addition to being refunded our full amount, they would be covering the stay at the comfort inn and it was "all taken care of" but when we arrived at the comfort inn, they didn't have any of our information and didn't have the payment information. It was all taken care of after another phone call but by then it was 1AM and we were exhausted and annoyed by the inconvenience.

They should be more careful not to overbook rooms on game weekends. Also, it would have been nice if they would have called us to tell us that they were overbooked so we could have driven straight to the other hotel and not have to deal with all of this in the middle of the night.

We travel to Iowa City frequently to visit friends but will never book here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Noone2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

nice place to stay. great food- breakfast and lunch.
rooms were well maintained. the lake at the back was very scenic. Overall I loved the place and had a pelasant stay at marriott.----------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a very good hotel with a great location. Rooms are nice, clean, and the lobby area and other public areas are very good.

However, how is the price so high for Iowa City, and pay for parking?

So a good choice, though in my opinion the Homewood Suites will be a better value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It's a new(ish) Marriott. And that's a good thing. You know what to expect... predictable, clean, welcoming, and comfortable. Nothing exciting but very nice.

The most distinguishing feature of the hotel is its immediate proximity to the Iowa River and adjacent wetlands. There are easily accessible nature trails and beautiful views from all of the waterside rooms.

The location is convenient, right off of the freeway, but a little odd. It's part of one of those "instant, artificial town" mixed use developments that is still under development. The development doesn't yet seem to be successful, so it's mostly empty land and vacant storefronts. Nothing bad but not particularly compelling. You definitely need a car to get anywhere interesting.

Of special note, the hotel has a very warm and welcoming library (complete with fireplace) filled with books associated with the Iowa Writers Workshop. A nice place to relax and read or work.

I probably would have preferred to be closer to downtown, but the Coralville Marriott is a very solid choice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a waterside room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This fantastic hotel is undoubtedly the best I've stayed in: I really wasn't expecting the warmth of the people of Coralville and Iowa City as reflected by this great advertisement for Mariott and American heartland hospitality. The facilities were excellent, spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and the food and service were second to none. The shuttle service was absolutely faultless. I would absolutely recommend this fantastic friendly facility. I'd love to go back to Iowa at some point in the future and when I do I'll try to stay here again, but for leisure so that I can learn more about this beautiful region and it's warm friendly people. Thanks Marriott for making me feel at home.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diarmuid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for the weekend that I was attending an Iowa football game.
Located quite close to the stadium.
Nice hotel, very cool feature is the Iowa Writers Workshop library located off the lobby.

Everyone I dealt with was friendly, helpful.
Decent sized room overlooking the nature trails behind the hotel.
Comfy bed, nice restaurant, HOT water in the shower.
Honestly, what more could you possibly need?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lefty713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#6 of 21 in Coralville
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 300 E 9th St, Coralville, IA 52241
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coralville
Price Range: £98 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the University of Iowa, Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center is one of the finest hotels in Iowa City. Featuring smoke-free accommodations and the area's largest meeting space, our hotel in Coralville, Iowa is within easy reach of Cedar Rapids and Des Moines. The perfect place for conferences, elegant weddings, family reunions and retreats of all sizes, we offer 60,000 sq ft event space, including a 30,000 sq ft exhibit hall and innovative guest rooms - each equipped with wireless internet access, plasma TV, Marriott Revive bedding and a spacious workspace. Guests can enjoy our hotel's walking trails, dining, indoor pool, 24-hour health club and unique Iowa Writer's Library, housing manuscripts from the country's oldest society of writers. Complimentary Internet access is available in public spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coralville Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Coralville Hotel Coralville
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing