We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Reviewed 26 December 2013

They failed to clean the premium price room that I stayed by not cleaning it. Do not expect good customer service because they do not understand customer service. Would not recommend it again and have stayed many of times before and now poor service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

After a lengthy flight and drive to get to this point, it was refreshing to see a BW that didn't fit the standard building with the other BW's I've stayed at. Outside, the 'motif' seemed to be a little different, and when I got into the room, I was set back a bit with a floor plan that I was not expecting. Living room on a lower level and a bed on the upper surrounded by a 'library' of books. I was extremely comfortable in this room, and also dissapointed that my stay here would be so short. Being so late, I quickly settled in and talked with the staff which they were very helpful and friendly. Got dinner close by then returned to quickly complete my daily computing requirements. Internet speeds were good w/ample outlets to charge phones, computers, etc... Room was warm/comfortable and a clean bath. Unfortunatley had to leave well before breakfast. I look forward to returning here in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 23Dorsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very nice hotel. Always stay there when going to Iowa City to the Dr. Will not stay at any other hotel in Iowa City Very nice pool. Good breakfast. Very convient, right off of I 80 easy to find. Nicely furnished rooms. Serveral different themed rooms. Last room was two beds, a pull out couch, one wall was all book shelf filled with books. I will ask for this room from now on.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were traveling from Colorado to Michigan, we had driven from 6AM to 7:00 pm.We were tired ,hungry and ready to stop for the night .We had the phone number of a Best western that I called to see if they had room available, sadly we misses that exit, I called back gave the clerk our location on I-80 and asked to please give me the direction for the nearest Best Westter off I-80 near Iowa city. The clerk gave me promptly the adress, and phone number of theit closest location.I called them and they secured a room for us.Friendly front desk clerk.Told Us about the choises of restaurants near by ,and processed our reservation very fast.The room was comfortable , beds were nice and soft , extra pillows, great matress and the period decor in the room was charming.The breakfast the next day was plentiful and adequate to fuel Us for the last part of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Gardengirl1982x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

On August 19, the management of this hotel responded to a comment to the hot tub being out of order by saying they were working on the necessary repairs. Now, less than four months later, the hot tub is gone. Completely gone, though still mentioned on the major travel sites. When this was brought to the hotel's attention (as the advertised hot tub was a reason for selecting the hotel), the response was "that's the responsibility of the sites, not ours." Excuse me? Ultimately, isn't the hotel responsible for what's advertised and alerting the major sites of changes and not the other way around?

Of course, we were also told the room we booked (queen bed with a sofa bed) was what we were given--a room with one queen bed, as the queed bed is the sofa bed. What? That doesn't even begin to make sense.

The room we had was spacious and clean. There's the only plus we've got.

Room Tip: Ask questions before booking, because you'll be sorry if you don't. Don't rely on their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadioCre8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! Our non-smoking $215/night hotel "suite" smelled like an ashtray. The toilet broke and backed up as soon as we used it upon arrival. We asked them to fix it while we were at dinner Friday evening. They did not. When we called after we got home the night manager was extremely RUDE and saw the backed up toilet and said "Oh h#ll no, I ain't doing that." So he dropped the plunger and said "do it yourself". Are you kidding me? We had no choice so tried plunging the toilet but the it was obviously broken. The next morning when we went to the front desk to complain to the front desk the (large, burly) night manager was still there and came out from the back room and called us liars and then threatened to take off his name tag and "kick my [--]". Yes, he threatened to assault me. Then while we were at the game they "fixed it" but it backed up immediately after we returned from the game on Saturday. So we had a backed up toilet all 3 days. We did not want to shower with this going on so had to go to a friends hotel to shower. We had to prepay as it was a game weekend. We have complained and called to talk to the general manager about a refund 5 (FIVE) times and he ("Curtis") has ignored us and not called back. Rude and offensive staff (one front desk employee was wearing a filthy XXL tee-shirt at the front desk - classy), and filthy hotel. The owners should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel is very old, no elevator. The clerk was very unprofesional when checking in. The clerk should assess whether the people checking in can climb the stairs with their luggage before putting them on the second floor. The room was nice and the decor was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coralville hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#12 of 21 in Coralville
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Coralville
AmericInn Coralville
#18 of 21 in Coralville
280 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Coralville
Quality Inn Coralville
#11 of 21 in Coralville
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites

Address: 704 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coralville
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites, is centrally located off the 1st ave exit,in Coralville,across from the Iowa River Landing.This property has a Old World Charm, but we are continously upgrading the property with modern amenities like NEW WIFI NEtwork, new RFID Door Locks, new Breakfast room, new Furniture and Mattresses in many rooms, new Artwork,new Roof..all with minimal inconvenience or noise to our guest. We have a nice Indoor pool, Fitness Room, Complementary WIFI All over the property,We also offer a Excellent Complementary HOT Breakfast in the morning, which includes, FRESH HOT Waffles, Eggs,Meat,Milk,Cereals,Juices,, *Pets allowed in Smoking rooms Only*. Cathedral ceilings and a large fireplace are an inviting change to a new conference room of 825 square feet of meeting space. We offer Standard Rooms,Two Room Suites,Suites with Hot Tubs,so whether you are on business or travelling with family, or want to spend a special night out with your partner, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cantebury Hotel Coralville
Best Western Cantebury Inn And Suites
Best Western Coralville
Coralville Best Western
Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites Iowa/Coralville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing