We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Coralville
Chicago, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Good Value for Money”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Summary: Inexpensive and good value for what you pay. I have stayed at the Hampton Inn near Coralville, IOWA probably 15 times now over the last 6 years for business travel. I rate this hotel as average simply in comparison to other, sometimes world class hotels that I have stayed at around the world including the Hiltons of the Hilton Brand. Pros: - Rooms and beds are clean and comfortable. - Front desk staff friendly. - The room rates are very reasonable. - Has pool and small workout room. - Has conference rooms for rent that do nicely for meetings and events. - Breakfast provided in dining room in the mornings (locked the rest of the day). Cons: - Lacks the small extra touches that are found at more expensive brand hotels (or even at the Holiday Inn next door) such as a bath robe, glasses (just paper cups), microwave... - Bar fridges are not standard in rooms, must be requested and sometimes they run out of them. - No working cold water fountain. You can either drink tap water, purchase a water bottle (or other beverages) from the dispensing machine or presumably wait until the ice from the free ice machine melts. - TV Screen seemed a little on the small side compared to other hotels. Tip - The Holiday Inn just next door (they share a building complex and are run by the same management team) had more mod cons and I think it charges the same price. Just not part of the Hiltons Honors for those of us on that loyalty program.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Benjamin H,

I'm glad you've been satisfied with your many stays at our Hampton Inn. The condition of our rooms is one of our highest priorities, which is why we wash the duvet covers every day. Thank you for letting me know how much you appreciate our efforts to go the extra mile for our guests. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Erika Pohlman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    127
    89
    44
    22
See reviews for
180
127
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This is not your usual Hampton inn. This property is old and not kept up too well. We had to change room 3 times due to air conditioner not working and loud; musty moldy smell and third room the room is good but has a huge crack in the window. It's too exhausting and like I said not your typical nice Hampton.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ylm_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear ylm_12,

I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations for our Hampton brand. I appreciate reviews like these to help ensure that guest room problems are fixed promptly so that we can continue our goal towards 100% guest satisfaction. We fixed the issues you encountered since you were here and hope you'll take the time to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Erika Pohlman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
296 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I made a reservation to stop here as it is halfway between my home and the city where I was traveling for business. This hotel is built on a hill so the parking lot is a further distance from the entrance than at most other hotels. While the common areas seemed updated, the lobby and eating area are small, I had a "king suite" which consisted on a king bed and a sofa bed. The only closet in the room was a faux wood-type cabinet next to the desk and I'm not sure why it is called a "suite" as it is only 1 room and did not have a refrigerator and/or microwave in the room. In addition, the room was very plain and the bathroom was quite small. I marked the value for this hotel as "poor" because the room was so plain and did not offer more than a couch, a bed and a small bathroom. The room cost around $150 (including tax) which is crazy as I had a much nicer room at a better Hampton Inn located in the downtown area of a major city and it was only $130 (including tax). The one bright spot for the Coralville Hampton Inn was the Breakfast. There was fresh fruit, cereals, lots of hot breakfast foods, yogurt, juice and more. It was one of the better breakfasts that I've had at a Hampton Inn. If I find myself in the area in the future, I will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaTravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear NebraskaTravelnut,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you got to enjoy our breakfast. We like to keep a variety of options on our breakfast line so that everyone can find something to enjoy. I hope the next time you're in the area, you'll stop back to see us again.

Sincerely,

Erika Pohlman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here on our way to Canada for vacation. The hotel was very nice. The staff was friendly. We had a good nights sleep. Beds were comfy. It served breakfast in the morning. That was nice and normal for a Hampton Inn which we appreciate very much. It was kinda laid out differently then other hotels which kinda caused a traffic jam while trying to get your breakfast items. Over all it was a very good stay and I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssheilmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear ssheilmn,

As you mentioned, we are very fortunate to have an attached restaurant, The River City Beefstro, as an on-site option for our guests and I am glad that you were able to enjoy this amenity! It is encouraging to hear positive feedback as it fuels our desire to provide quality service to our guests! Thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Meganne Franks
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My son and I stayed here while we visited the Univ. of Iowa. Easy on and off 80. Close to the Univ. and mall. Very clean. Restaurant next door. Nice. Breakfast offered warm entrees and convenient when in a hurry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Christy C,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the University of Iowa. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast bar! I encourage you to utilize our breakfast-to-go bags in the future as you can take them with you when you do not have time for a sit down meal. Thank you again for sharing your experience and I welcome your return to the property!

With great thanks,

Meganne Franks
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Nice place with a really good front desk staff. They took care of the only issue we had immediately. The breakfast had a nice variety of food including fresh fruit. There is an attached restaurant for drinks and dinner. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 749tylerh,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience during your recent stay with us! I'm proud to say that we hand cut our fresh fruit every day and will be sure to pass along your kind words to our breakfast staff. I welcome your return! :)

Sincerely,

Meganne Franks
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
327 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were heading to DesMoines but needed to get off RT 80 early do to the weather. The hotel, right off the highway provided friendly easy to work with staff who were knowledgable about the area. While the rooms were clean and quiet the flooring and woodwork are a bit worn. This was our 3rd Hamton in 7 days and it provided us with the lowest room rate (maybe higher during the school year as a University is near by?). There is an restaurant attached but we did not visit it.

Room Tip: Near a major highway so select rooms on higher floors farther from the elevators which seem to be ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Bob S,

I appreciate your loyalty to the Hampton brand and am very happy to hear that we were able to provide you shelter under the extreme Iowa weather conditions. Hopefully, your next visit to our property will be under more favorable conditions as we have many great things to do here in Iowa CIty/Coralville. Come back soon!

Sincerely,

Meganne Franks
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.5 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville

Property: Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
Address: 1200 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coralville
#6 Business Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville Hotel Coralville
Hampton Inn Coralville
Coralville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing