We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in stormy weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place in stormy weather”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Bad weather had me worried. Rain and hail were coming down all around the area. Got to the hotel and the staff was very fast at getting us checked in. They made sure we knew where to go if the sirens went off again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwest_Traveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    50
    21
    12
    12
See reviews for
69
44
13
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Ihg hotels in the past have had too soft pillows on bed, this hotel was much better. Room was clean and confi. Maybe doors could be adjusted so they do not slam when closing. Staff was outstanding, friendly and helpful, thus the five circle excellent. Breakfast with pancakes ,sausage choices, and premade omelets. Plus warm cinnamon rolls, very good!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mikiej09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was prepared to write my review before I even spent the night! The front desk staff, Latosha and Mo, were professional, friendly and very helpful. I requested a recommendation for dinner and Latosha made an excellent suggestion. When I saw her after dinner, she called me by name! I was very impressed. The room was all we have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express - clean, comfortable, and well furnished. I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliFlower57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived early and I was able to get an early check in. The lady at the desk was most helpful and friendly. Our room, a king was nicely laid out and spacious. Their was the usual desk, chair with foot rest, refrigerator and coffee pot. Smelled clean. The bed had to kinds of pillows labeled "soft" and "firm" on both sides. We had a quiet evening later watching the NBA basketball game on TV and we both slept very well. The doors were not heavy so they did not close loudly when guests went in and out. We went to the complementary breakfast the next morning which ran from 6 am to 10 am on this a Sunday. Plenty to chose from, light, fruit/yogurt to heavy, biscuits and gravy. They had a pool and workout area we saw that looked nice but never used. Would stay again, was very pleased!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tocman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

For some strange reason most hotels in the area were booked solid. We were recommended to this hotel and were glad to find it an nice choice. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was included and was just ok. Several food choices were within a half mile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Recently stayed here 5 nights for business and was very pleased with my room and the staff. The pool is shared with the adjoining casino and was adequate size. The exercise room was average and one of the stations on the weight machine was broken the entire 5 days. Breakfast was average. Rooms were of average size and were clean. The nice thing is that the hotel is connected to the casino which has a good buffet and plenty to do. If I am in the area again I would certainly not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdhokenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew T, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear mdhokenson-
I am very excited that you enjoyed your stay with the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites connected to Ameristar Casino. However your wonderful review was posted on the Holiday Inn Express down the road. Thank you again for your kind words and being a loyal member to the Holiday Inn family. Maybe during your next trip to Iowa you can give us a shot.

Matt Turner
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
365 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This HI Express location is a little further away from downtown Omaha, but the price was right and it only took a few minutes to zip downtown. This location had everything I have come to expect from HI Express and the staff was very pleasant. While you are there, check out a movie next door at the AMC.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew T, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Blabbott-

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how your stay was. I am very pleased to know that we met all of your expectations as our hotel guest. We look forward to serving you again when you visit us on future stays. Thanks again and have a great day!

Matt Turner
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Address: 2211 S 32nd St, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-7076 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites Council Bluffs)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
#4 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Council Bluffs
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing