We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Nice hotel. BUT... We were promised a Suite with whilrpool tub, and waited in the lobby (with a 4 year old) for 1 1/2 hours AFTER check-in time while our room was being cleaned. Then the lady behind the desk comes up to me and said that there was an overbooking, so we could not get our whirlpool suite and that our regular room has been ready. So, we waited in the lobby FOR NOTHING. They did not try to make it up in anyway, just said sorry. I asked for a late check out because I had a late check in, but was denied. Also, the breakfast was horrible! English muffins were substituted for the "biscuits" and gravy. What a joke this service was! Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmorga3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 208 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2010

This is a new build HIE with nice finishes and large guest rooms. Three main disappointments, however.

1) No Priority Club recognition at check-in - I might as well have been a walk-in guest.

2) While the hotel has nice new LG flat screen TVs in the rooms, there are no HDTV channels except for a couple of digital cable channels that just happen to be "in the clear."

3) Most annoying of all - many of us stay at Holiday Inn Express for breakfast, and specifically the well-advertised cinnamon rolls that are the signature item. This HIE? Nothing doing. No cinnamon rolls, making the breakfast simply the same as anywhere else in this market segment.

If new hotels with large rooms are what you seek, you'll like this hotel. If you want the specific things that the Holiday Inn Express brand is supposed to offer, you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenverBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

This hotel is beautiful and modern looking. You would never be able to tell it used to be a Sleep Inn. The staff told me this hotel is only a year and a half old and I'd believe it! The beds are still so new, everything is so clean and so beautiful! I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends, family and anyone looking for a beautiful hotel in Council Bluffs!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvs2travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We came to Council Bluffs for a concert at Stir Cove at Harrah's. After reading different reviews here on Trip Advisor we chose to stay here. It was still a Sleep Inn in Sept. The hotel seems fairly new so I'm surprised it has changed franchises. The hotel is a little out of the way but it's quiet and quick and easy to get to Harrah's. The room was large with a refrigerator, microwave and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was large and very nice--lots of counter space. Breakfast was the usual fare and was kept well stocked. The breakfast room is large so there's plenty of room to sit. We stayed on a Thursday night and left Friday so the hotel wasn't very busy. There was ample parking but that may not be the case on a weekend. If the new franchise keeps the same values and employees I think they will do well. It does look as if the rates have increased now that it's a Holiday Inn Express. I would definitely check out this hotel if you're going to Council Bluffs.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos com vista para o rio sao mais silenciosos e a vista e muito bonita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fabricio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 25 in Council Bluffs
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Best Western Crossroads Of The Bluffs
Best Western Crossroads Of The B...
#11 of 25 in Council Bluffs
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Address: 2211 S 32nd St, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-7076 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites Council Bluffs)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
#4 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range: £84 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Council Bluffs
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing