We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Winterset, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I had a great room. The view of the river was amazing. I could just relax and enjoy the view. I had a good nights sleep. The bed was very comfortable. I was staying by myself and felt very safe in and out of my room. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend the Ameristar to all!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Patty, I'm so glad to hear you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. We appreciate the post and would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    70
    27
    17
    15
See reviews for
48
117
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Vista
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Excellent stay! Beds are always comfy--not to hard, not too soft-just right! Staff is right on top of things if you need anything extra, like a pack n play! Room is spotless and smells fresh. Valet service is always top-notch! We left behind a pair of socks and housekeeping turned these items into to security who contacted me by phone regarding my misplaced items. What other motel will contact you if you leave something behind! Awesome place to stay and I would highly recommend to all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the west end on the north side. You get a great view of the river and all the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmacracker E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thanks for posting! I'm glad you had an excellent stay and got to experience the quality service we strive to give every guest. Thanks for the recommendation and please come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Great stay. Sorry it was only for one night.

This hotel is always spot on clean. The hallways and rooms seem recently renovated every tiem we stay. Had a corner suite with a great view of the river and downtown.

I can say nothing negative. Stifling hot, but the valet's were always friendly, even at 2:30 in the morning.

The coffee shop, I believe the name is Bella's has never disapponted in the 10+ times we have ate there. I recommend their Breakfast Banana Split. The fruit in it was unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airboss1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for posting your review and staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast at Bella's. We appreciate loyal guests like you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This review is for a road trip in which I stayed at both Ameristar Kansas City and Ameristar Council Bluffs so I can't help but compare them. This facility is much smaller in scale compared to the Kansas City location. The strengths of the Council Bluffs hotel are the beautiful atrium, the river view of the Omaha skyline and the quite literal riverboat casino.

The atrium is covered in glass allowing lots of sunlight and giving it a very open, airy feel. It was relaxing to sit out under the warm sun eating ice cream. They also have a large screen playing music all day long in this area. Honestly I could have done without the screen. It kind of killed the relaxing country feel the rest of the atrium portrayed when old TLC songs were blaring loudly.

The other thing that made the stay nice was our view. From the river view room we could see that the casino was quite literally a riverboat docked behind the hotel. Looking out beyond this across the river you could see the downtown Omaha skyline and this made for a nice view at night.

One of the areas this facility lost out to the Kansas City Ameristar was the casino interior. Again it was smaller in scale. You could tell it was a struggle to fit a full casino into the boat. It was split into 3 levels all of which were jam packed with various means to lose your money. The casino felt very claustrophobic.

Another interesting quirk of this location is that it is physically connected to the two neighboring hotels. The pool, sauna and workout facilities are shared with the Holiday Inn next door.

Otherwise the customer service was great. The rooms were clean and stocked with the usual hotel amenities one would expect. It's a short drive to the Omaha zoo which is worth seeing. I definitely enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottw8063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thanks for visiting both Kansas City and Council Bluffs properties and for posting your reviews. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arnolds park
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel and experienced fantastic service from the moment I entered the facility! Staff were respectful and more than available to assist with any request. The room was very clean with amenities such as small refrig, etc. The shuttle is a fantastic srvice!
Absolutely Zero complaints or concerns and plan to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonsays85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Wow, thanks so much for the review. So glad you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to meet your expectations. Guest services is very important to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
202 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our child had a wedding reception at the Ameristar and the service took my breath away. The fine folks from catering were on hand at every turn to assure that we were treated royally. Price was reasonable, food - - we chose the Italian Buffet - - was fantastic, but it was the catering folks who made the day. Would highly recommend using the facility for special occasions. Ask for Ben Nelson, he truly understands service and kindness.

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely maintained and elevators quick. Don't expect an amazing view, that's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyG520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thanks so much for posting your review. We're honored that we could host your child's big day and help make it a memorable one for the family! Congrats to the newlyweds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was the first time we had been to Ameristar, check in was great! The front desk was very helpful and accomodating. When we went to our room the first thing I noticed was the smell of old dirty gym socks. It was very odd. There was a maid in the hallway and I asked her if she had any sort of room freshner and she did, but it didn't help that much. The longer I was in the room the less I noticed the smell. Other than that, room was nice, had a whirlpool suite and loved the shower as well. Would go back and stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowa_state_fan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.6 mi away
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Harrah's Council Bluffs
#1 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Property: Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
Address: 2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs features 160 luxurious rooms that are tastefully decorated, many of which include panoramic views of the Missouri River. Ameristar Council Bluffs is proud to boast the largest riverboat casino in Iowa. This casino in Council Bluffs is 38,500-square-feet includes a selection of popular slot and table games. Ameristar Casino Hotel in Council Bluffs includes four dining options, fitness center, and an indoor swimming pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing