We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Bed with a whirlpool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“King Bed with a whirlpool”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This room was very clean, No complaints with the room at all. Whirlpool was relaxing ! Even did well with gambling. Ate at the Ameristar sports bar, the pizza wasn't cooked completely and barely warm. The waitress offered to take it back to cook longer but by that point I was almost done eating. She did provide good service.

Room Tip: If you gamble and use the rewards card, always ask for the host when checking out to see if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleLPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    72
    27
    17
    16
See reviews for
49
121
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at Ameristar in Council Bluffs on Valentine's Day night. The room was good, the food was tasty, and the gambling was excellent (winner!). We do frequent the casino, but normally don't stay overnight as we live fairly close. But, we booked with Ameristar knowing that we were going out of the country the next day and they had a shuttle service to the airport. When my wife booked the room, we asked specifically about that and whether or not we could leave our car. We were told that we could leave our vehicle in valet and there would be no problem. We checked in on Friday evening and parked valet thinking we were in good shape. When we checked in, my wife again verified with the front desk that we could leave our vehicle there until we returned on Thursday. She was told that we could and would be able to use the shuttle to and from the airport. I also checked with the valet and was told it wouldn’t be a problem. However, when we went to check out the next morning and catch the shuttle, we were informed we couldn't leave our vehicle in valet and would need to move it off property, but that we could still catch the shuttle. The valet told us it was “the manager’s decision.” After much time wasting and debate, we were allowed to park in the parking garage and still use the shuttle. We booked at Ameristar to utilize the service and have a good night of dinner, drinks, and gambling on Valentine's Day as a way to get our vacation started off right. However, Saturday morning caused us a lot of stress and we worried about our vehicle while we were away. In short, I wouldn't recommend using their airport shuttle service. It simply wasn't worth the headache and added stress.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Let me start off with the good....................rooms were clean,most of the staff friendly,we had great service from the bartender at the steakhouse, sports lounge not so much they were short on staff gave us the wrong tab waited forever to get our bill then also to pay!!! We paid full price for the rooms first time staying there! We went to the casino to gamble a little and just look around they obviously had a "high roller" gambling so we watched a little got asked to move because he didn't like people to watch!!!! Are you kidding me you are in a public place I felt like my money was just as good as his!!!! We ended up going to the horseshoe casino to gamble had a great time when it was time for the shuttle to come pick us up they said it would be 45 mins...... no big deal but an hour past we had them call again they said it would be 25 more mins.........25 mins past and they called again no answer so I tried calling no answer had to call the front desk they told me sorry but it was going to be another 25 mins Thank God after waiting almost 2 hours for a ride back to our hotel a driver from the Holiday Inn was nice enough to give us a ride no one ever showed up!!!! Those are just a few things that went wrong not to mention it was suppose to be my engagement weekend at the time not knowing that!!!!!! I would recommend staying at another hotel close by and maybe just gambling at their casino unless you are a "high roller" and have special privileges!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi, Tricia. We're very sorry to hear about your experience with Ameristar Council Bluffs. Thank you for sharing the good as well as the bad so we can get this information to the correct departments and make them aware of areas that need improvement. We hope you will give us another chance to make it right and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Nice rooms. Always lots of people in casino, but to get to the casino from your room is a long, long walk. When the river is up, then it's great to stay at the hotel, as the walk is cut shorter, but as is now, the river is down & a mighty long walk for the elderly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your review and for visiting, Sharlene! I am sorry about the walk to the casino. I'll be sure to pass your feedback along to our team. Thanks for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holdrege
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We just stayed one night. The room was very clean and very nice. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, very important. The staff was nice. It was convenient, that we could go to our room without leaving the casino. There was a café/restaurant that we went to between the lobby and casino, that had very good food. The only problem we had.....was we were not winning at the casino, so we ended up going to the lounge there and finishing out the evening there drinking and dancing to a great band. We had fun!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at the Ameristar the 3rd week of November. We lost money in the casino, but then we usually do!! After gambling we went to the sports bar and had a very nice supper. The drinks were also good. (A little pricey, but good.) Since we were flying out early the next morning we didn't stay up late. Their rooms are simply marvelous!! So clean and so nice and homey. The beds are so comfortable. We enjoyed a great nights sleep before heading out on our vacation to Cancun. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCHS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stay here quite frequently just to "get away" from the every day grind. The staff are pleasant people to be around. The rooms are clean and have anything you would need away from home. They provide robes for going down to the pool/sauna/hot tub. They have great choices for places to eat while there. Highly recommend Ameristar!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.6 mi away
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Harrah's Council Bluffs
#1 of 24 in Council Bluffs
1,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Property: Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
Address: 2200 River Rd, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-7070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs features 160 luxurious rooms that are tastefully decorated, many of which include panoramic views of the Missouri River. Ameristar Council Bluffs is proud to boast the largest riverboat casino in Iowa. This casino in Council Bluffs is 38,500-square-feet includes a selection of popular slot and table games. Ameristar Casino Hotel in Council Bluffs includes four dining options, fitness center, and an indoor swimming pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing