We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility and casino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great facility and casino”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Enjoyed our first, but not last, visit. Hotel attached to the casino was excellent, as was the casino itself. Everyone, from security personnel to housekeeping to management, was friendly, helpful and courteous. One minor downside: you may have to pay for casino drinks IF you are not at a certain tier status with Caesars players club card.

Room Tip: Stay close to elevators at a higher floor to avoid walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzySkull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
FuzzySkull,

Thank you for making the trip to our property all the way from Wisconsin! I am very happy to see that you found the experience in our hotel so enjoyable, and want to thank you for the nice things you wrote about our staff. As you referred to, we do provide complimentary beverages on the casino floor to the Diamond and Seven Stars members of our Total Rewards program. This program does provide a multitude of benefits at different tier levels, and is something I would strongly suggest considering joining if you are planning a trip to a Caesars Entertainment property.

We hope that you’ll stop back by if you make the trip again!

Thank you,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    389
    189
    56
    61
See reviews for
270
503
153
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We reserved several more rooms this year since our attendance is growing. The hotel staff went out of their way to make our weekend enjoyable even to the point of bringing chairs to our room for our annual card party on the ironing boards :-) We ate at the buffet both Friday and Saturday evening when they were able to seat 25 relatives together in one area.

When setting up the rooms, the hotel services supervisor, Laura Cordova bent over backward to get us all the best rate available and we thank her for that. No one had any problems with their reservation and we have Laura to thank for that. Her communication with us in setting up rooms was outstanding. She was always available or would contact us as soon as possible to answer questions or make changes.

Thank you Harrah's and Laura Cordova!

joan

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Joan S,

We very much appreciate the kind things you shared about our Hotel Supervisor, Laura. Laura has been an asset to our team for a number of years, and continues to prove over and over again exactly how valuable she is to us here. I know that she takes great pride in making people feel at home during their stay, and I assure you that your words mean the world to her.

I know that you have held your annual “Cousins” trip here for a few years, and I hope that we will continue to serve as your host for years to come. Please feel free to reach back out to us at any time to set things up for next year.

Hospitably,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ida Grove, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Harrah's Council Bluffs overlooks the Missouri River...one of the nicer views we have had at a Hotel lately....Naturally, the casino is a little bit TOO convenient...only 100 feet or so away from the elevators to the rooms...Rooms are clean, very nicely laid out, and quiet. Buffet is usually good, and the new Cafe has excellent food 24/7.

Room Tip: Ask for a "river side" room for a beautiful view of the river and the Omaha skyline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
KevinPeggy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone here on TripAdvisor. The views of the Missouri River and Omaha skyline from our property really are beautiful; whether you’re on the 1st Floor or on the 12th floor in our 360 Steakhouse, they’re very difficult to beat. We appreciate you taking the time to write such nice things about our property, and hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel, casino and restaurants were all great. It was very clean and modern and the employees we encountered were friendly and efficient. I would recommend this hotel as a comfortable and fun place to enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredPeople2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
RetiredPeople2013,

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us earlier this month. We try very hard to provide a fun environment for our guests to come out and play, and I am glad to see that you had such a great time. Our new casino is quite different from our former Riverboat home, and now offers a very clean, boutique space with a modern feel.

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you on your next trip up from Kansas!

Regards,

Ryan M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a groupon for our stay weekend stay on weekend Oct 5, 2013. With that was food credit that we use at 360 steak house on the 12th floor. What a romantic night indeed. The staffs at 360 made our anniversary dinner a memorable, they were so attentive to us, congratulated us for our anniversary as we were seated and upon leaving and we even have a complementary dessert as we ended our dinner. My diver sea scallop with papaya puree was cooked perfectly, to me is very easy to over cooked a scallop. My husband had the grilled gulf shrimp of which I had a taste of and they were as good as mine. As per my request during the reservation we were seated facing the Iowa river with a nice view of Omaha. The reception/reservation desk were friendly and helpful also didn't run into any problems on that. The king size were clean and comfy so as the pillows. We had a few drinks at Stir cove and listen to the live dj and played a few games of free shuffle boards to end our night. To the attentive, friendly staff at Harrah's Council Bluffs keep up the good work!

Helpful?
Thank ChrisS21T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
ChrisS21T,

Congratulations on your Anniversary!!! Our 360 Steakhouse makes a wonderful getaway for special occasions, as it blends an intimate environment with spectacular views of the Omaha skyline. I’m very happy that our staff was able to make it so special for you – Steve, Chef Andrew, and their teams do a great job for us, and I know they appreciate your comments very much.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us – we hope to see you again next year.

Hospitably,

Ryan M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corydon, Indiana
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The best part about staying here, is that it's usually not full of kids running around in wet bathing suits. Since there is no pool, you loose the vagrant kids waking you up at midnight with a tantrum. Rooms are nice and service is a plus. No breakfast for you in the morning, but the diner downstairs will fill you up. It's easy park and the casino is average.

Helpful?
Thank greygirl1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
greygirl1997,

Thank you for your kind words about your stays at our property. We strive to provide an excellent experience to our guests each time they are here, and I am very happy to see that we have consistently succeeded when you have visited. With the casino, our environment does cater to more of an adult audience, though children are welcome throughout our hotel and restaurants. I’m also glad to see that you were able to try our Backstage Grill – Open 24 hours/day, you can grab breakfast anytime you’d like.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community!

Regards,

Ryan M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hotel was great.The staff is very professional. The food is good with many options. You can use your players card to get food free or greatly discounted.The hotel offers free shuttle to the Horseshoe casino where you can wager on horses (simulcast) or live dog racing. Check out their concert schedule, they have great bands that perform at their amphitheater. The room was very nice,clean and comfortable. I would highly suggest this hotel for a weekend getaway. The variety of restaurants and bars plus the casinos at Harrahs and the Horseshoe make for allot of choices especially if you like to gamble. If you live in the mid west and want to getaway for a weekend,this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Rick B,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your past experiences here with us on TripAdvisor. As you stated, between our Harrah’s and Horseshoe properties, we truly have something to offer anyone. Between the unique qualities of each casino, our restaurants, bars, concert venues, race track, and hotels, we have attempted to provide our guests with a constant flow of entertainment options. Our Total Rewards program allows you to earn points towards complimentary services regardless of where you choose to spend your time on property, and simply being a member offers discounts throughout our outlets. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed our staff, as they all work very hard to deliver top-quality service to each of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing such kind words with us.

Regards,

Ryan M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Council Bluffs
0.6 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Council Bluffs

Property: Harrah's Council Bluffs
Address: 1 Harrahs Blvd, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-5680
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Council Bluffs
#2 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
#8 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Council Bluffs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure takes you to the Omaha and Council Bluffs area, staying at Harrah’s is your key to a fun, friendly time. Check in to our luxurious accommodations, including exquisite suites and deluxe rooms. Plus, you’re just step away from the action with slots, table games, fabulous dining, shopping and live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Harrahs Hotel Council Bluffs
Harrah's Council Bluffs Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing