We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good visit.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I'm a monthly traveler to Omaha. Our company has a rate at a not so nice hotel, so I use my hotel allowance and usually go to Hotwire or Priceline. This time, it was Hotwire to give me a good rate. Quite honestly, even with my travels to the area... I never knew this hotel was here.

Check in process went really well. The staff was friendly and had my arrangements ready to go. My room was one of the rooms on the angle (318) and I had a really nice room and a HUGE bathroom. That part was really cool! The sleep quality was about average, as their must have been some guests on the first night that had a little too much fun at the casino next door. The room was quite nice, and comfortably sized. The bed was comfortable, the internet speed was very good, and LED TV's are always a plus.

In addition, I had a toilet that refilled every hour. I alerted the staff to this on my first night, and when I came in for the second night, it had not been fixed, so I simply shut off the valve. Also, the air conditioner barely cooled to my expectations. (probably about 68 degrees). Sleeping with the comforter on the bed just doesn't happen at that temperature. I wish that their was a fan on switch on the AC as well to help drown out the noise in the corridor.

Breakfast was very good. The kitchen staff were also very friendly, and there was a nice selection of items. The gym area was also very good, but my recommendation is for a 24 hour gym for us early-birds.

Overall, I am scoring my experience as very good, and would definitely recommend the hotel and stay at the hotel again.

Thanks for the Hotwire rate, and hope we are able to make that happen again in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms at the angle will have bigger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HI-Gold-Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    152
    58
    21
    20
See reviews for
195
103
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

With my daughter in Omaha, we are becoming regulars in the area! We have tried a handful of different hotels so far. The Country Inn and Suites was nice hotel; clean, comfortable beds, great shower, and nice area. We will put this on our least of repeat stays.

Room Tip: We don't usual pick a specific room, but we were put in an end room, and it was very quiet. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 907momof3907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked and paid for 2 rooms 6 weeks ago. I specifically asked for adjoining rooms because my husband and I have 4 children. We wanted the kids to have their own room but we still needed to be able to see and hear them. They are 9, 6, 4, & 1. The 1 year old was going to stay in our room with us. After traveling all day we arrived at the hotel to check in at 4:15. They gave us 2 rooms that were across the hall from each other. When we asked to please be moved to adjoining rooms they informed us that there weren't any adjoining rooms left and we should have checked in earlier in the day to secure some. I don't understand the purpose of reserving and paying for a room 6 weeks in advance if they won't honor the reservation. The kids were so disappointed and we left. We found another hotel down the road that had adjoining rooms. I would not recommend staying at this hotel. VERY poor customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinncb, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience with our hotel. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every effort to make sure that all guests are affected as little as possible. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here three times this year for business and for leisure. While it is no frills, it is totally acceptable. My rooms have always been clean and comfortable. I like the daily coffee/cookie bar touch.

My main observation that could use improvement is that the breakfast staff have a habit of putting the trash and empty boxes in the first floor hallway leading to the breakfast room in the morning. It's kind of unsightly!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Abakinzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Although this is an older hotel it has been updated. We had a very comfortable overnight there. Nothing fancy, but clean. The only problem with the room was a lack of easily accessible outlets to recharge our electronics. The breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We wanted to be on the east side of Omaha and ended up here. The front desk was efficient and helpful. Room was OK, a musty smell that cleared our after the window was left wide open for a couple of hours on a cool night. Otherwise it was clean. Room was quiet.
The next morning breakfast was just OK. There was lots of staff, but surprisingly everyone's apron's ( 3 people) has soiled aprons which did not make me feel very comfortable. Maybe the waffle making machine blew up.... don't know. Would not go out of my way to stay here away. I feel bad saying this, but that is the way it was that day.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side opposite the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We made a reservation sight-unseen and arrived late at night. The room was very nice, large and comfortable. As others have written, the breakfast room was busy, but well-stocked. We easily found a table for two.

When we checked in, I was unable to find parking. The lot was full and the area on the access road was full, too. We found out the next day that a Little League travel ball team was staying there- lots of parents with lots of cars and SUVs. Little wonder they were out of parking spots. The night clerk was very helpful. He directed us to park in the handicapped spot as their handicapped rooms were already occupied. He said the police only come if they call them. He left a note for the morning clerk saying he had directed us to park there. We did not get ticketed- I have to admit that I felt a little nervous all evening. My wife even had a dream that our truck got towed. The motel has no parking behind the facility, so if you arrive late at night, you may have difficulty finding parking.

By the way, if any parents from the travel ball team read this, your boys were very well-behaved and polite. There was no running around the halls, they were well-mannered at breakfast- in fact we didn't realize there was a large group of children at the facility until we saw them eating breakfast in their uniforms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berniega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
397 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 24 in Council Bluffs
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
Address: 17 Arena Way, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-6991
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
#5 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're doing business in Omaha, visiting loved ones or trying your luck at the area's famous casinos, you can't beat the comfort and convenience offered at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs, IA. The hotel's central location puts you just minutes from Eppley Airfield in Omaha, and the Harrah's and Ameristar casinos are only a short drive away. As an added bonus, the Horseshoe Casino is just across the street from the hotel, making it easy for you to enjoy the region's best games. At the hotel, you can take advantage of numerous amenities and services, including free high-speed Internet access, a heated indoor pool and whirlpool tub, and a complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Council Bluffs
Country Inn & Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Country Inn Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing