We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to grade this one.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
393 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Hard to grade this one.....”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

When we checked in, there were very few cars in the parking lot. The really young clerk told me we would be on the first floor. OK - we have been on the road for 3 weeks, and elevators have been a challenge. Opps. During the night we had the old "walking on the ceiling show." Footsteps that crreeek above you. I should have asked Junior to look at my portfolio and keep to my requests. My bad. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was hot and well prepared. What set me off, actually, was listening to a French horn lesson that was going on in an adjoining room during breakfast. At 9:30 in the morning, some music student is playing scales on a French horn. What kind of management lets this happen?? If I had been a salesman who had driven 200 miles to get here and was trying to sleep - I would have burned the place down. Totally inexcusable in a hotel!!

Room Tip: No interstates nearby. But make sure you get a higher floor. Floors creak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn Y, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
I am very sorry that the horn lesson disturbed you we managers try very hard to please every guest.
It was at 930 in the morning during the week when most of our guests are up and out of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    104
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
94
64
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Draper, UT
Level Contributor
199 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I liked this place very much. Very clean, comfortable, easy to get to and easy to park. The room was spotless and my only regret was I didn't get to stay a little longer. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jaltaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was my first time staying at a SpringHill Suites, and I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby and rooms are contemporary and clean. We stayed in a 2 bed studio suite, and the layout allowed my daughter to easily go to bed while I stayed up later. I was impressed to see there was a bar available in the breakfast/happy hour area. Our visit was just an overnight while driving through the area, so we did not seek out restaurants. Location seemed great for the casino and Bass Pro Shop. The breakfast was acceptable, but nothing fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn Y, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Springhill Suites so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle
Level Contributor
301 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Close to Omaha airport, this is a clean, quiet and great location to stay. Certainly better location than the Hilton Garden Inn as the highway noise is greatly, and I mean greatly reduced by the location.
The ONLY problem is the lack of good restaurants in the area. Need to either head into center of Omaha or farther into Council Bluffs to find a restaurant worth spending your money on.

Room Tip: any and all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idahotraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn Y, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us so happy you enjoyed the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

It pretty much looks like other springhill suites, the free breakfast was decent - eggs, sausage (pork), yogurt, milk, juice, toast, muffins, cold cereal, oatmeal and some fresh fruit. The only negative thing about this place that the hotel could change was that the employees smoked in front of the hotel. Part of the reason why we stay at Marriott hotels is because of their non-smoking policy, and I understand why they would let guests smoke in the front, but employees were smoking in the front in the area where guests were allowed to smoke.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Hills, KY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

There were a couple of things that kept me from giving this hotel 5 stars, and I will mention them later. First, the good. The hotel is within walking distance of a Casino and a few restaurants. It is within affordable cab distance of two other casinos and almost any restaurant you can think of. It is right next to I-29, but my room was on the same side of the highway, and I never heard highway noise. The bed was amazingly comfortable. I always feel the bed as soon as I walk in a room. At first touch, this bed felt very firm. However, when I actually got into the bed, I sank right in. The Internet connection is extremely fast and reliable. This is not common with many hotels these days. They have a Directv package on the television, and they had many channels that you would not expect a hotel to have. I never had trouble finding a parking spot, and the hotel was full at least two of the seven nights I was there.
Now, why not five stars? Well, there is indeed an issue with the hot water as other reviews have mentioned. However, I found that if you let the water run for a few minutes, there will be hot water. It did not matter what time of the day it was, this was always the case for me. Next, there is a bar in the lobby with great drink prices. However, the bar is not always opened during the times that it is "supposed" to be open. I was told one night that it was slow, so they had to close. Well that was at 7:30. Of course you are going to be slow until about 8 when people have time to come from work and go out to eat. Furthermore, the bar is only scheduled to be opened from 5-9. How can you shut down for being slow when you are only open 4 hours? Finally, the bar is severely under-stocked.
In the end, I would choose to stay here again if I was in the area. Hopefully, the hot water issue gets resolved, and they pay better attention to the bar. A bar is quite valuable to have in a hotel lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knoll911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Comparing with other SpringHills we have stayed, this one is a little bit smaller. Convenient location for the people come for Mid-America Center arena. We saw the fire work around 10 pm from the arena. The pool is nice but was loaded with people so we didn't even try.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA

Property: SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA
Address: 3216 Plaza View Dr, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-7481 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs)
Region: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the SpringHill Suites difference. It's a place that will soothe your senses, a place where spacious suites and inspiring design will help you leave feeling more refreshed than when you arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing