We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality... Very clean!!”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
San antonio tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hospitality... Very clean!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I booked two nights here during College World Series, there were not a lot of options left in town as far as hotel rooms... The staff at front desk were genuinely friendly and attentive... always greeted me with a smile! My room was very very clean and the king suite was huge! I was running late on my check-out, and they graciously gave me a very "late" check-out time. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermama040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    48
    41
    17
    9
See reviews for
52
31
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

The pool is 4'6" deep all the way around, so this wasn't the best place to bring six small children for a birthday trip. We went to the zoo and wanted to go swimming, but the water was too deep for some of the smaller children. In other words, there is no shallow end. Secondly, the TV was not working in one of our rooms, and when we complained, they said it couldn't be fixed, and there were no other rooms available that were close to each other. They wanted to put some of us on another floor! No maintenance person was on duty, so if this had been a major emergency...we would have had to leave and find another place to stay (at 8:00 p.m.). But the worst thing that happened was while we were eating breakfast the next morning. A housekeeper came into one of our rooms and started cleaning it, even though we had not checked out and it was clear that the room was still being occupied. She stripped sheets off the beds, moved furniture, and threw some of our items into piles! After discovering that this had happened, we realized some of our things were missing. After recovering several of them from her cleaning cart, we still could not find my son's Nintendo DS. After searching for an hour, we called the police to come investigate and question the housekeeper. It did not show up and I just got off the phone with the manager (because she was not on duty at the time it happened), and she was very rude and kept arguing with me. She says they are not responsible for lost or stolen items. I asked her "what about when it involves one of your employees?" She had no intelligent response. So what it boils down to is that we have to take either the hotel and/or the housekeeper to court and we're pressing charges against the housekeeper for unlawful entry and possible robbery. Even the police officer AND the lady working at the front desk that morning agreed that the housekeeper should not have entered our room unless it was clear that it was vacant. It was VERY much occupied and she knew that.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dishonest employees, pool, non-working appliances
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Have stayed at other Comfort Suites that were much nicer. There was some construction going on with scaffolding across the front of the hotel - they're doing updates. The hotel is older than it looks in the pictures and in a very unattractive area. Front desk gave directions off of Interstate, but road closed and had to make stop to call them again. Night staff Darryl very nice despite road conditions and ensured my safety from car to the hotel lobby.
Called Hotel direct Reserved smoke free room and whole hotel supposed to be smoke free but my room reaked of cigarette smoke. The bed was comfortable but the comforter full of cigarette smoke (sheets clean). Reported this to AM staff on duty Jessica acknowledged renovations but argued with me that noone could have smoked in that room. She repeately argued that room hadn't been smoked in and I should have asked for it to be OZONED. That just doesn't work! Arrived in the late hours and after driving for 12 hours and didn't realized how bad it was until I was in bed. Recent Cigarette burns in carpet and TV. That doesn't work when you are highly allergic to smoke. I am now suffering from an upper respitory trouble. Ice machine broken. I was going to stay two nights but checked out the next morning. The night staff were super, however, very friendly and helpful. Would think twice about every staying there again.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank travelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunlap
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We have stayed at other Comfort Suites that were much nicer. There was some construction going on with scaffolding across the front of the hotel so hopefully they are doing updates. The hotel is older than it looks in the pictures and in a very unattractive area. It is supposed to be smoke free but our room reaked of cigarette smoke. The high speed internet didn't work and the staff acknowledged that they have problems with it. They were very strict in enforcing the breakfast hours unplugging the toaster and waffle maker precisely at 9:00 a.m. even though there were many guests still eating. The front desk staff were super, however, very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Close proximity to the Omaha Zoo
  • Disliked — Smelled of cigarette smoke
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peanut9497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laporte, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

My sister and I were driving to a reunion in Illinois and picked the Comfort Suites out of our AAA book and called and made a reservation before we got there. The room was on the first floor as we requested, very quiet and clean. The lady at the front desk receommended a restaurant right up the street and it was very good food. Would definitely stay at a Comfort Suites again.

  • Liked — Very quiet room
  • Disliked — Breakfast selection could have been better but it was okay
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ddjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We spent three nights at the Comfort Suites. We were attracted to the price and the proximity to the Henry Doorly Zoo. While it wasn't easy to figure out how to get to the hotel at first (and the large sign outside isn't up yet), we eventually figured it out.

Our room was large, but as others have mentioned it's not truly a "suite." There is a very short partition between the couch and the beds. While we found the room to be clean, there was an ant problem in the bathroom. Also, one morning we were not able to get hot water in the shower for a while. After about 20 minutes it did come on. Our theory was that the hot water heater couldn't handle the high demand at 7:30 a.m.

Breakfast was fine, with many hot item choices. The pool area was clean.

In short, the room was spacious, we enjoyed swimming, and the it was the right price, but it's nothing special.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mssbkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south dakota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

Nice place to stay, great staff, but get breakfast early they were a little testy when we came in close to closing time. There are no soda machinces also, not sure why. Would stay again though.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank drewhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Council Bluffs
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Crossroads Of The Bluffs
Best Western Crossroads Of The B...
#12 of 24 in Council Bluffs
431 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Zoo
Comfort Inn at the Zoo
#50 of 82 in Omaha
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#11 of 24 in Council Bluffs
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1801 S 35th St, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-7088
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Council Bluffs
Comfort Suites Council Bluffs, Iowa
Council Bluffs Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing