We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of La Sauzette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sauzette
Ranked #1 of 1 Cazilhac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We spent four fabulous days in the Languedoc region of France with warm, welcoming hosts Luc and Magali, their three delightful children and dog. They were quick to offer bottles of water for the room and helpful with suggestions of sites to visit and scenic routes to take. We enjoyed lively, memorable three-hour dinners at their table with other interesting guests from Germany, Australia, France and the US. They invited us to join them for an aperitif on the nights that we did not opt to have dinner at the ferme.They really made our stay memorable with their special brand of hospitality. They are very attentive to the dietary needs of their guests and eager to engage their guests with their family. What a wonderful end to our vacation!

Room Tip: See the website to choose the room that appeals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trilingjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2011

We spent two nights at la Sauzette while we were touring southern France. The Dupont family was so welcoming and warm. Their children are delightful and very well behaved. We enjoyed trying to communicate with Luc and Magali, we don't speak French, but we had our book handy and they are learning English; it was fun! Our meals were excellent and it was wonderful to come back to dinner after sightseeing all day! We have wonderful memories of our time at La Sauzette.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed at La Sauzette for four nights in September 2010. We used it as a base to explore Carcassonne, Albi, and the Cathar castles. We had a lovely room at the back, with a king-size bed and a full bath. The place is located just south of Carcassonne, with easy access to the autoroute. Our hosts, Chris & Diana, were in the process of turning over the place to the new owners, the Dupont family, so we had the pleasure of meeting both families. We shared a delicious continental breakfast with them all each morning. Luc, Magalie and their children are delightful, and will do very well in their new enterprise. We had a lot of fun trying to communicate... they have a little English (but are eager to learn), and we have very little French.

On our final night at La Sauzette there was a going-away party for Chris & Diana. Many of their old friends and neighbors were there. We were made to feel most welcome, and enjoyed talking with many of the guests, who seemed pleased to practice their English on us. Magalie whipped up an amazing array of fancy hors d'oeuvres, salads, cheeses, breads and desserts. We had a wonderful evening, and a wonderful stay at La Sauzette!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdk1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We found this place in Rick Steeves guidebook and, although we had planned to stay in towns, took a chance on a place in the country - although it is only a 10 minute drive from Carcassone. Since we usually stay at B&B's in historic town centres, we found that three nights of absolute quiet on the farm were very refreshing. La Sauzette had literally just changed hands about a month before we arrived. The new owners are good friends of the former owners and this helped with the transition. Maggie and Luc have three very well behaved children and a friendly, well trained dog. They made us feel right at home and Maggie cooked a delicious four course supper (French country cooking!) with wonderful local wines on two of the three days that we were there. The option of ordering supper was great, because after a day of hiking we didn't always feel like getting changed and heading into town for dinner.

Our room was spacious with a nice big bathtub and lots of hot water!. The great room where guests and family gather has a huge fire place, a dining area and a separate area for TV watching.

Our three night stay at La Sauzette was one of the major highlights of our three week vacation in France.
La Sauzette was a great jumping off point for day trips to Carcassone, Limoux, Minerve and Castelnaudary (for cassoulet!).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waverleywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

After visiting Carcassone,,, it was wonderful to have some tranquility, yet only a few minutes away from the old Cite.
Diana was a wonderful host ,, her breakfast magnificant , with fresh stewed fruits . yougurts, cheeses, homemade jams,breads , and criossants ,, say no more !

And extra bonus for us , to take our 2 dogs and be so welcomed , yet not a dog hair in sight !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daffie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed for 4 days at La Sauzette and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the service is superb. We loved the breakfasts!
And this is a very convenient place to stay to explore Carcassonne, La Cité and surrounding areas. It is very close to town (minutes away), yet is far enough out to experience that wonderful French countryside feeling. The gardens are rustic and idyllic. Lastly, Chris & Diana are amazing hosts. We had a lovely time and would recommend this chambre d'hote to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billnz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We stayed two nights at this B&B and highly recommend this beautifully renovated farmhouse building. The rooms were very comfortable, well decorated and had modern and clean bathrooms. Our host and hostess were gracious and went to great lengths to assist us when we had a problem with our rental car! A very convenient base from which to discover the gorgeous countryside and nearby Carcasonne.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intheditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazilhac
1.9 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
344 reviews
3.0 mi away
Audotel
Audotel
#13 of 39 in Carcassonne
178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sauzette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sauzette

Address: D 56 | Carcassonne, 11570 Cazilhac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Cazilhac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cazilhac
Price Range: £53 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La sauzette is an old farm completely renovated into guest rooms. Only 5 km from the magnificent medieval city of Carcassonne, you will appreciate the calm and tranquility of the Sauzet, totally isolated surrounded by vines and woods. Many hiking trails available to you, so you can admire beautiful landscapes. Parking is free and secure, each room has a theme and the hostess can if you wish one of our regional dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Sauzette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing