We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little gem!”

Vander Veer Botanical Park
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful little gem!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a great little secret in Vander Veer Park! We loved walking through and seeing all the tropical plants, and for only $1, what more could you ask for!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HCulbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    45
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
714 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“Refreshing, charming place on a winter visit”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We visited family in the area around the Christmas holidays, as confined our visit to the conservatory and greenhouses. While it was the dead of winter, the greenhouse was a well-tended and interesting display of plants and flowers. It was so refreshing to come in from the ice and snow to this greenery and color. Visitors can tour the displays as well as the working greenhouses.

There is also small gift shop and restrooms on the premises.

You can imagine that the park is a wonderful place when the weather warms. It may be enjoyable in winter, too, but I've never been one to be out in the cold for very long. I'd love to see this place when it comes into its leafed-out and flowering glory, complete with fountains.

Modest suggested fee for the conservatory/greenhouse, but free on Tuesdays, I think. No fee for the park and outdoor gardens. The conservatory/greenhouse probably takes less than an hour to tour, but how long you stay in the park is up to you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Beautiful Botanical Park”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Loved seeing all the beautiful plants in the arboretum and walking all around the park. Want to come back in warmer weather.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I didn't know what to expect when I went to Davenport, as I have never been there before. I was completely surprised by this park in particular; It was absolutely beautiful! As you can see from the photos, I arrived at the perfect time of year to see the autumn foliage. It isn't huge, but was just the right size for a stroll on a nice cool day such as when I went. There is a path that circles the entire park with an abundant supply for parking. There are a number of activities at the park for any type of person or group, e.g., there are playgrounds for families, there are paths for the walkers, plenty of photo ops for the budding photographer, activities and items of interest for the flower/plant enthusiast and the list goes on. If you're in Davenport, you'll definitely have to check out this park! It's centrally located and easy to get to.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LostIn0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this park.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It's a pretty simple place. Very pretty. Has a water fountain, plenty of benches, kids playground and space for activities. Pretty flowers we saw a lot of people taking professional pictures by. Didn't get to check out the green house though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jordyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vander Veer Botanical Park also viewed

 

Been to Vander Veer Botanical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing