We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Extremely nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent three nights here over Labor Day with two other families. We had a very nice time at the hotel. The rooms were very clean, nicely furnished, with great towels and sheets. The three rooms we saw were oddly shaped and laid out. The room we had was fairly small, but adequate for our family. The pool and small deck was very nice, the bowling alley and martini bar was a lot of fun. The hotel is in the middle of the action in Davenport (not that there was too much!), but the farmer's market is nearby, the baseball stadium was a short walk, and if you like biking, the Miss. River bike trail was only a couple of minutes away. However, it is nearly impossible to rent bikes downtown, so bring your own.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biogeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Biogeog,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Blackhawk on TripAdvisor. Did you know that we have Parlor Rooms available, that can be added onto standard rooms? Sometimes this is great for families, so the kids can have a separate area to hang out in. It also provides more space for you. We hope that you will take advantage of our Parlor Rooms during your next stay with us. Since the hotel was built in 1915 and our owners wanted to keep the structure of the building original, we had to be creative with the given space, which is way every guest room has a unique layout. We think this adds to the character of the hotel.

It sounds like you had a wonderful holiday weekend with us. Thank you for your compliments on the cleanliness and decor of the hotel; I will be sure to pass them along to our team. We hope to see you again soon!

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    100
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
103
163
25
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
186 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a deluxe king room with a view of the river, okay it was over roof tops but still it was beautiful especially at night. This hotel is drop dead gorgeous and the service is definitely first class. Every staff member we met wanted to help us. The daily breakfast was very good ( I had oatmeal with fresh strawberries) and the Sunday brunch was amazing. The price for the quality of this brunch was a great deal but come hungry.

Our room was spacious with lots of work space and the bathroom with the TV in the mirror was so... cool. The bed was very comfortable and we had a couple of great nights.

I loved this hotel and would definitely come back again. Free Internet and free parking, always appreciated.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe it is worth the difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Zabelle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Hotel Blackhawk on TripAdvisor, and thank you for staying with us! At Hotel Blackhawk, we pride ourselves on the customer service that we provide. Thank you for noticing and commenting on our service; it is greatly appreciated. I will be sure to pass along your compliments about our Sunday Jazz Brunch to our Food and Beverage team. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have not stayed at the Blackhawk in past years for the Bix Festival because there was either a two night minimum or the price was a little rich for us or both.
This year our daughter was along so the cost was a better spread for three of us—and besides, she offered to pay!
Right next door to the two indoor venues for the festival, it is hard to beat the convenience. We arrived in time for Saturday afternoon concerts starting at noon. Surprise number one was our room was available and we were able to check in early to freshen up before the concerts started.
We have stayed at a number of historic hotels, this was one of the better experiences.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gachap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear gachap,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel Blackhawk on TripAdvisor. The Bix 7 Race and Bix Jazz Festival are two of our favorite weekends each year. Due to the high demand, our prices do increase, but we're thrilled that it worked out for you and your family to be able to stay with us this year and enjoy the convenience of our location to the activities. Although we cannot guarantee early check-in, our phenomenal housekeeping team does all that they can to get our rooms cleaned and ready for our guests as soon as possible. We're thrilled that we were able to get you in early! We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year, if not sooner!

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bologna
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This beautiful place made our vacation unforgettable! They have been able to mix the old classic glamor of the historic hotel with new design furniture and with all the technology required by today's traveler. Ask for a Riverview room and you'll be in a dreaming atmosphere and views from the four-windows-room. Do not forget to watch the morning news from the screen in the bathroom mirror!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear frubbi,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Blackhawk during your recent time spent in the Quad Cities, and thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We love that the owners of the hotel kept the history alive, but still were able to create modern accommodations for our guests. The Hip & Historic feel is something that makes us very unique; thank you for noticing. Did you know that Hotel Blackhawk was originally built in 1915 and the way that our lobby is laid out now is an exact replica of how the hotel was when it was originally built?

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

One week ago we stayed at this beautiful hotel located along the Mississippi River in Davenport, Iowa for our son's wedding. The reception was held in the historic Gold Room and we also were among many family members who enjoyed the accommodations. The service went above and beyond expectations with attentive staff who are focused on details and perfection! A wonderful weekend spent with family at a beautiful location!

Room Tip: All rooms are especially lovely, but overlooking the Mississippi River is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeK459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear DianeK459,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Blackhawk after your son's recent wedding reception. We love it when local residents take advantage of the opportunity to stay with us. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Our Gold Room is the perfect venue for weddings. It sounds like your son's wedding was an event that you will never forget; and we are honored that we were able to be a part of that special day with you and your family. We are fortunate to be located right on the Mississippi River, and we agree, our river view rooms are the best! Thank you for your comments.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pocatello
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

a wonderful weekend with very attentive staff, always helpful and accomodating. Rooms just gorgeous! Food at reception excellent! Lindsay Thul's involvenent in planning and organizing impressive! Location along the ricer and close to gambling opportunities extra fun :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mildcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear mildcaro,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share you experience at Hotel Blackhawk on TripAdvisor. Your compliments about our staff and the service that you received are extremely kind. I will be sure to pass them along to our team. We can't believe that you traveled all the way from Idaho to stay with us. Thank you! We love welcoming our guests to the Midwest, and we’re glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This older hotel in the downtown area is well maintained and the rooms are spacious and quiet. It is located downtown and close to the river. Breakfast at the hotel was great. Although expensive, with free parking it was a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear John N,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us. We love the fact that we're located right downtown. It allows our guests to have access to multiple restaurants, bars, shopping, and attractions; all within walking distance! Being right on the Mississippi River is definitely a plus as well. We appreciate your feedback and compliments.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#2 of 25 in Davenport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
0.1 mi away
Radisson Quad City Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Moline
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Davenport
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bettendorf / Quad Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Address: 200 E 3rd St, Davenport, IA 52801-1633
Region: United States > Iowa > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Return to Sophistication!Resplendent from a multi million-dollar renovation, the Four Diamond Rated, Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection once again reigns supreme as the grande dame of Davenport, Iowa. Since it first opened in 1915, the hotel has served as a home away from home for families, romantics, presidents, movie stars and legendary athletes alike. Now this majestic landmark reopens with a “something old something new” approach to hospitality and a fresh new focus on modern amenities and rich décor—and all the while keeping a hand in the past under the direction of an artful restoration team. Poised to provide knock-your-socks-off service to a new age of guests, The Hotel Blackhawk has reclaimed its status as the venue of choice in the Quad Cities. It is once again an integral part of the community—where guests are impressed and memories are made—a friendly, fun place where approachable luxury and personalized service will be enjoyed for generations to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing