We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our family had a wonderful time at the Hotel Blackhawk. The lobby is beautiful and offers plenty of areas to unwind. However, we arrived during the middle of a wedding reception so it was a bit awkward checking in among the mingling of wedding guests. The room was small but the beds were comfortable and decor was chic. Valet parking was complimentary which was nice and the location of the hotel is perfect to walk to local restaurants or the ballpark. Service was phenomenal throughout and the father's day brunch was amazing. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Burgs1,

Thank you for bringing your family to stay at the Blackhawk during Father's Day! I'm glad that you were able to create some lasting memories with your family at our brunch and around downtown Davenport. We are very fortunate to be so close to a variety of restaurants and attractions. We would love to have you back for another family trip to the Quad Cities!

At Your Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    108
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
106
176
27
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I had bad service while eating at their restaurant and afterwards the food manager addressed my issue and provided a generous resolution because she comped our meal and breakfast the next morning. After that she even covered the tip I wanted to provide my waiter. They never argued; just heard my complaint and exceeded my expectations.

It's a beautiful hotel and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Away from the main rd so you don't hear the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Mark J,

Thank you for sharing insight about your stay. I am pleased to hear that our food and beverage staff made it right with you after learning that the service was not up to our standards. We take our guest feedback very seriously at the Hotel Blackhawk. I hope that your breakfast experience lived up to the expectations we have for all of our amenities on site. We hope you are able to stay with us again in the near future!

At Your Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed one night at the Hotel Blackhawk using our Marriott Points, very glad we did! Lobby area is very nice, and the front staff was incredibly friendly. Eighth floor room was a blend of old style and newer furnishings with a good view of the river. Pool and spa available on the third floor. Breakfast at the Bix in the lobby was nice. We will be staying here when we visit Davenport again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Terry W,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and friendliness of the staff at the Blackhawk. It sounds like you found your weekend getaway spot! We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel while visiting the Quad Cities. See you again soon!

At Your Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We only stayed one night, (May 4-5) but this place is great. Historic architecture, modern luxurious rooms--marble baths, robes, etc., friendly staff. We only had breakfast in the bistro off the lobby, but it was great. Downtown Davenport is up and coming, and while restaurants are sparse as you get away from the casino, you can still find places to eat. We ate in a local Itialina place that was really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good Afternoon Eugene S,

Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel! I’m glad that although your stay was short, you were able to create some memories in Davenport. The downtown area is truly experiencing a rejuvenation with new restaurants and shopping experiences constantly emerging. Antonella’s Ristorante is one of those local favorites. We hope that you are able to return to Davenport again soon to enjoy more “Marvels on the Mississippi”!

At Your Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a lovely night at this gem in Davenport, Iowa. What a pleasant surprise from the marble lobby and martini bar to the beautifully decorated rooms. Soft hues of Grey mixed with black and white offer elegance and taste. Nice bathroom with both soaking tub and large glass shower. My husband called it a spa inside a hotel room. Give this place a try

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Greetings Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We are glad that you enjoyed both the modern elegance in the guest rooms and historic prominence of our lobby. Our motto here is “hip and historic” and it is great to hear that you found pleasure in both of these features. Please think of us when planning your next romantic getaway!

At Your Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The previous night we had stayed at The Hotel at Kirkwood Center in Cedar Rapids.
That was the hotel to which I compared my hotel experiences in eastern Iowa.
The Hotel Blackhawk was much more expensive than the Kirkwood and much less impressive.
I dont agree this is the best hotel in town, nor am I convinced it is worth the high cost.
The check in was not welcoming. I was in room 514. It was dark and depressing. Yes the linens were nice, the bed comfortable but the bathroom was just adequate because with the door open it was in your face when using the toilet. The shower head was unreachably high and the walls in the shower depressing. I expected much better and did not get it. Some rooms have a view of the river but mine had a view of the parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for river view, high floor or a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear 2013traveler,

It is unfortunate to hear that your stay here did not live up to one of the other four diamond properties in Iowa. We are fortunate to have some rooms that have views overlooking the Mississippi River, however we do have a limited number so we cannot guarantee a river view. I apologize that our front desk did not seem welcoming, that is certainly not the impression that we wish to send to our guests. Please contact me directly if you plan to return to the Quad Cities.

At Your Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here (and in other places when this isn't available) several times when on business in the area. This has the most character, biggest and best equipped rooms, good food & wine (a broad, deep list) and is very friendly and welcoming.
What could be better? The "martini bar" is a bit ropey - twice they seemed surprised to be asked to mix an actual martini rather then pour a beer, then they ran out of ingredients and produced a chemical concoction that could have been used to unblock drains. It has been very quiet there each time we have been- much better atmosphere in bars outside the hotel. The bowling alley was good fun though.
Will definitely return on our next visit to the Quad Cities.
Also, various online systems had shown the hotel to be fully booked, but a late call to them confirmed this wasn't and never had been the case, so don't rely on the internet alone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fifer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello Fifer1969,

We are glad to hear that you have discovered and enjoyed the Blackhawk’s character! Thank you for providing detailed feedback on some of the highlights of our hotel and improvements that could be made. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the Quad Cities!

At Your Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
0.1 mi away
Radisson Quad City Plaza Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
511 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson on John Deere Commons
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bettendorf / Quad Cities
3.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Moline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Address: 200 E 3rd St, Davenport, IA 52801-1633
Region: United States > Iowa > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Return to Sophistication!Resplendent from a multi million-dollar renovation, the Four Diamond Rated, Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection once again reigns supreme as the grande dame of Davenport, Iowa. Since it first opened in 1915, the hotel has served as a home away from home for families, romantics, presidents, movie stars and legendary athletes alike. Now this majestic landmark reopens with a “something old something new” approach to hospitality and a fresh new focus on modern amenities and rich décor—and all the while keeping a hand in the past under the direction of an artful restoration team. Poised to provide knock-your-socks-off service to a new age of guests, The Hotel Blackhawk has reclaimed its status as the venue of choice in the Quad Cities. It is once again an integral part of the community—where guests are impressed and memories are made—a friendly, fun place where approachable luxury and personalized service will be enjoyed for generations to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing