We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Country with Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Charming Country with Great Customer Service”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel looked new and was extremely charming and well maintained. The rooms were wonderful, comfortable bed and very large. The manager was extremely kind, check in was flawless, and they served a wonderful breakfast. After this experience, I will lean towards more stays at a Country Inn and Suites.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank goldwingtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    115
    19
    18
    5
See reviews for
181
72
22
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Everybody from Cathy Grunwald the General Manager and Sally at the front desk to all of the housekeeping help to Kayla who helps out everywhere, the staff is sure to make your stay very enjoyable. A very nice pool and hot tub and excellent free breakfast are great ammenities of this hotel. It is a little hard to find if you are coming from the east, but it is in front of an awesome biking/hiking trail.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A great choice. Staff very helpful & pleasant. The cookies are always a very nice touch. Room was large, clean, comfortable. Plenty of outlets in easy to use places. Bathroom large & clean. Breakfast was wonderful with plenty of choices & all at proper temps. A great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed one night here while visiting my sister at Luther College. The beds were both queens, and both very comfortable. The TV looked pretty new and worked reasonably well, picture quality was not great. The effort the hotel makes to be Eco friendly also gives it good marks. The staff at the front desks and during breakfast were all very courteous and helpful. They had fresh cookies when checking in and the breakfast was reasonably good, but not very well stocked. The biggest complaints from me are the noise and the bathroom. The shower was nice, but the shower head itself was out of place. The door to the bathroom also didn't latch perfectly. Also, whenever someone else took a shower, you could hear the water rushing loudly through pipes, which was a quite obnoxious early in the morning. The internet was also pretty slow, and wouldn't even connect to my iPad. I'd say overall it was great, and would probably stay here again if the noise problem was fixed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side of the building, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 78Michael78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

While the property is a bit dated it was clean and quiet. Loved the pool and laundry facilities. Breakfast was included and had tons of choices. With limited choices in Decorah I would not hesitate to stay again. Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: This is a 2 story property with no elevator. So if you can not carry things to the second floor be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzScrapbookingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have been staying here for 8 years when we return to Decorah, The pool area is fun for the kids and the adults like the hot tub, The staff goes out of their way to make sure we have everything, We are always greeted with a smile. And they make fresh cookies which are awesome. The rooms are clean and don't smell. That says a lot if you travel. This place is always busy and seem to book fast. We will return.
Keep up the great job.

Room Tip: I'd stay on the main level, the 2nd floor has no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We realized after we checked in that this hotel was not pet friendly like their chain. We notified the front desk immediately to be honest. They not only charged us for the room and a $150 cleaning fee penalty for keeping a dog but kicked us out and called the police! We had our 2 small children and thought letting them know of our error was the right thing to do and we were treated like criminals! It was a horrible experience. We left within an hour of checking in due to the "company policy" which does state they do not allow pets but also states if you do keep one you have the additional charge yet we didn't have the option to keep the room and take the penalty charge. I didn't find anywhere where it states you will be vacated with police if you make the error. It was a horrible treatment and experience for my family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 6hwkkds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Customer Care at Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy we were able to speak with you today in detail and come to a satisfactory resolution. It is true that pets are not accepted at our facility, however, the way this situation was handled has been addressed and corrections are being made. We are actively reviewing the route taken to find pet friendly hotels to see how our hotel came up and make the necessary changes. Thank you for initially choosing the Country Inn and Suite Decorah, and we hope to be able to see you in the future for a more pleasant visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decorah
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
1.2 mi away
Hotel Winneshiek
Hotel Winneshiek
#2 of 5 in Decorah
192 reviews
16.3 mi away
No photo provided
Cresco Motel
#2 of 2 in Cresco
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Decorah
Super 8 Decorah
#4 of 5 in Decorah
357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dug Road Inn
Dug Road Inn
#1 of 3 in Decorah
57 reviews
16.4 mi away
Super 8 Cresco IA
Super 8 Cresco IA
#1 of 2 in Cresco
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah

Property: Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
Address: 1202 Highway 9 West, Decorah, IA 52101-2459
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Decorah
Decorah Country Inn
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing