We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Winneshiek
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Cresco Motel(Cresco)
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Capone(Spillville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
136
52
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
52
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hoteldowntown decorahopera housepresidential suitethe main streetsmall townlovely hotelwater streetold stylethird floortoppling goliathturn of the centuryin townlovely downtownrefurbished hotelold worldrestored historic
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This turn of the century hotel is located directly in the center of beautiful downtown Decorah. If you are coming to town, This is where you want to stay! Wonderfully restored to its grandeur with well decorated rooms. They are not large, as expected from a hotel of this era. There is also a nice but somewhat pricey restaurant within the hotel as well. Service was good, food was adequate, but priced high for the town.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dr_reagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A beautifully remodeled hotel in great condition (they told us the remodel was around 2000 and you'd swear it was a few months ago). We hadn't been to Decorah but had been told it was worth a day trip (it was). The Winneshiek seemed the best choice. It's a small (31 rooms) hotel with a variety of rooms (we got the King bed of more than ample size and a nice sitting area). Very friendly staff. We had drinks in the bar (nice happy hour appitizers) and a great meal in the restaurant. It's an old style hotel - no spa/pool etc. There is an associated opera house that we were told normally is used for weddings - a common event here. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willearnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very lovely hotel. Beautifully remodeled. We had a small standard room, nicely furnished, quiet, very nice bathroom. Our only complaint was that the bedding didn't seem to fit the bed, and kept coming off during the night. Other than that, it was a very nice stay and the location was perfect. Lots of quaint shops and the Vesterheim Museum nearby. Had lunch at the Old Armory, which was a pleasant surprise. Did a winery tour, visited the fish hatchery, and walked through the nearby parks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedal_Pusher_7441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We came for a family wedding. it is fun to go to a small town and find such a nice well cared for place! There is a a unique atrium that just isn't built in a new hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and if ever in town again we will stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank JVPonKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We've stayed in Decorah 5 times, this was our first at Hotel Winneshiek. It's a smaller hotel (not for Decorah), very clean, pretty, friendly. Rooms are large with a sitting area. The hotel is within walking distance to bike/running trail and is along the main road in downtown. No swimming pool. Hotel has a restaurant which servers breakfast and dinner (not lunch) as well as a "tap room". Room service is available. Parking is right out back with validation from front desk. We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: we had a room on the second floor so didn't have to wait for elevator, looking over the main street, two queen beds.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 43Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews