We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Winneshiek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Winneshiek
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Ames Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Hotel Winneshiek is an elegant hotel that is beautifully decorated. I felt like royalty with the four post bed and luxurious linens. The town of Decorah is nestled in a picturesque valley surrounded by bluffs and trees. There is so much to see and do in Decorah.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HereNThereTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    46
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
83
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The converted Opera House - several years ago I think - i now a lovely old hotel. The staff at the front desk were pleasent and helpful. The room was relatively spacious and the bed was firm and comfortable. The reception area has a fireplace and a couple of big Queen Anne chairs that we took advantage of. If in Decorah stay here.
On the downside - the Hotel Bar is painted bright yellow and is not very welcoming or conducive to a quiet "drink in the bar".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just a simple overnight after a high school football game. Wanted to visit this historic town for some time. The Winn hasbeen beautifully restored. Very easy to find in the lovely downtown. Front desk very good. Reservation made online, everything was in order! Very, very clean room, bath was outstanding, room was very quiet. Could have used a firmer mattress! Everything as advertised and surprised with a chef quality breakfast in the restaurant. Great stay, better room than I've ever had in downtown Chicago, and I didn't have to pay $60 to park overnight! We'll be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decorah, IA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This turn of the century hotel is located directly in the center of beautiful downtown Decorah. If you are coming to town, This is where you want to stay! Wonderfully restored to its grandeur with well decorated rooms. They are not large, as expected from a hotel of this era. There is also a nice but somewhat pricey restaurant within the hotel as well. Service was good, food was adequate, but priced high for the town.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dr_reagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena IL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A beautifully remodeled hotel in great condition (they told us the remodel was around 2000 and you'd swear it was a few months ago). We hadn't been to Decorah but had been told it was worth a day trip (it was). The Winneshiek seemed the best choice. It's a small (31 rooms) hotel with a variety of rooms (we got the King bed of more than ample size and a nice sitting area). Very friendly staff. We had drinks in the bar (nice happy hour appitizers) and a great meal in the restaurant. It's an old style hotel - no spa/pool etc. There is an associated opera house that we were told normally is used for weddings - a common event here. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willearnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very lovely hotel. Beautifully remodeled. We had a small standard room, nicely furnished, quiet, very nice bathroom. Our only complaint was that the bedding didn't seem to fit the bed, and kept coming off during the night. Other than that, it was a very nice stay and the location was perfect. Lots of quaint shops and the Vesterheim Museum nearby. Had lunch at the Old Armory, which was a pleasant surprise. Did a winery tour, visited the fish hatchery, and walked through the nearby parks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedal_Pusher_7441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poipu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We came for a family wedding. it is fun to go to a small town and find such a nice well cared for place! There is a a unique atrium that just isn't built in a new hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and if ever in town again we will stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JVPonKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decorah
1.2 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
11.0 mi away
Hotel Capone
Hotel Capone
#1 of 1 in Spillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
No photo provided
Cresco Motel
#2 of 2 in Cresco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dug Road Inn
Dug Road Inn
#1 of 3 in Decorah
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Decorah
Super 8 Decorah
#4 of 4 in Decorah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Winneshiek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Winneshiek

Property: Hotel Winneshiek
Address: 104 E Water St, Decorah, IA 52101-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Decorah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Winneshiek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Winneshiek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winneshiek Hotel Decorah
Hotel Winneshiek Decorah, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing