We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food with delightful service”
Review of Ruby's

Ruby's
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Decorah
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort food with delightful service”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I stopped in to Ruby's for a quick lunch while waiting for my husband. What a treat! I had a steaming hot bowl of hamburger vegetable soup and a side of homemade lefse. I thoroughly enjoyed my lunch, the service and my carry out treat of a Ronny's famous cinnamon roll and more lefse!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBGB1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cinnamon Roll Heaven”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

When in Decorah, it is a tradition of many families to get a cinnamon roll from Ruby's. These cinnamon rolls are huge and sure to satisfy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HereNThereTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional service, great food”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you're new to Decorah, and stop at Ruby's, Jo will welcome you with the same comfortable charm and concern that she uses for the locals, who she also takes extremely good care of. Food was excellent, service was better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank widad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Diner Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

On a recent trip to Decorah we had both a breakfast and a lunch at Ruby's. We had visited once before and have never been disappointed with any of the options we have had. Great food, reasonable prices and attentive and engaging wait staff are all pluses for this place. A great place for down home food---the meatballs are fabulous!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BAChiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I try to eat here whenever I'm in the area”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The best beet pickles I've ever tasted were served here. I tried to coax the recipe from the manager -- no luck. She grows the beets herself. Breakfast is great and the sweet rolls are awesome. A collection of Ruby glass items is part of the decor. This is a simple cafe, and within that category it is a 5.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ruby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing