We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Decorah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Decorah
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Decorah
Oelwein, Iowa
2 reviews
“Enjoyable trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This super 8 has finished a massive renovation. Very well done and is well above the average motel. The rooms are pleasant and reasonable sound proof.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    117
    84
    45
    23
See reviews for
131
61
47
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, MN
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We've enjoyed staying at Super 8 Decorah a couple times each year.

It's clean, comfortable, and the staff is nice.

We intended to stay here again for a few days in August 2014 but at quoted cost of $104 per night for my wife and I was over priced.

We ended up staying at a nice little motel in Cresco, IA, about 15 minutes away, for much less than half the Super 8 quote.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM03412, Manager at Super 8 Decorah, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We would like to thank you for your response here on trip advisor. Our Super 8 staff, strives to make your stay a comfortable and pleasant one.
We are definitely in our peak season of business right now which causes the rates to be quite a bit different than our slower part of the season. thank you for your comments and hope that you will come back and stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulton, Maryland
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Reasonably priced but service poor. Wifi a process to enable each time it's turned on. Room service did not make up bed. No response to help from front desk requested twice. Advertised "24 hour free coffee" cold in the afternoon. Minor but numerous irritations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B1902BKJennifer_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel has recently been renovated, and I have no complaints about our room. Even had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Impressed with the cleanliness. Went up stairs to our 2nd floor room, no elevator. Breakfast was average, small breakfast room so I shared my table with another couple. Best if you are busy elsewhere during the day and stay here mostly to get a good night's sleep. Would not want to stay here longer than a few days. This was a "me only" trip and I felt safe at this hotel. Location was very good, about a 5 minute drive to E. Water St. in Decorah.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainbuff9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pella, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was a very nice place to stay. Not the cheapest but didnt really want to stay in the cheapest one in town. This hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Only issue we had was that it took one of the staff about half an hour yo check us out because he didnt know what he was doing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mitch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here last week for three nights, and though our first impression of the exterior had us wondering about our choice, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room had been updated, and though it wasn't large, it did have a refrigerator and microwave. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast adequate, and the staff helpful. They had the most economical rates in town, and as long as you plan to be out and about during most of the day (like we were), it's a fine place to stay for the night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B-and-FMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decorah
1.5 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
1.1 mi away
Hotel Winneshiek
Hotel Winneshiek
#2 of 4 in Decorah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
No photo provided
Cresco Motel
#2 of 2 in Cresco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Capone
Hotel Capone
#1 of 1 in Spillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
17.8 mi away
Super 8 Cresco IA
Super 8 Cresco IA
#1 of 2 in Cresco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Decorah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Decorah

Property: Super 8 Decorah
Address: 810 Highway 9 E, PO Box 465, Decorah, IA 52101-2355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Decorah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Decorah 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Decorah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Decorah Hotel Decorah
Decorah Super Eight
Decorah Super 8
Super 8 Decorah Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing