We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfasts”
Review of Dug Road Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dug Road Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Decorah B&B and Inns
Iowa Park, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the cleanliness, ambiance, nearby trail, warm hospitality, and fresh local foods prepared for an allergy -customized breakfasts. Nice tubs showers beds pillows amenities etc. easy walk to Main Street shopping and dining.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review as we appreciate your comments. Our goal is to make each guests stay a rememberable experience.
Thanks again,
Doug, Shirleen and Sondra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south dakota
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were absolutely thrilled with our stay at the Dug Road Inn. We stumbled onto by chance and it was the best lodging choice we have made in some time. The rooms are large and comfortable, with nice amenities such as robes and separate water flasks. There was never a feeling of being cramped into the space and we enjoyed the king size bed, which was very comfortable. We took a room on the first floor, but were able to use the refrigerator and kitchen on the second floor for some food that we bought locally. The staff is incredibly helpful and kind. The breakfasts were inventive and wonderful (the lemon pancakes were fabulous). They gave good suggestions on places to eat and visit. The Inn is conveniently located to the downtown area and for the cyclists or runners/walkers, the Trout River Trail is very close as well. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the lower level, there was little noise from above. If you prefer not to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackfrost0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We loved reading your review of our inn. Thank you for sharing with us and the readers of Trip Adviser as many of our guests refer to these reviews. We look forward to welcoming you again and if you would like those lemon pancakes, just let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

What a charming place we found in quaint village in Iowa. This was our first ever stay at a bed & breakfast and we are not sure if we can ever find another like this.
From Doug and the staff to the healthy scrumptious breakfast you can't go wrong booking a stay here.
The rooms are attractive plus a kitchen area upstairs with fridge, range, microwave, table with 4 chairs for your use. Plus a pot of coffee sitting on the table each morning.
We are early risers so being only 2 blocks from Trout Run trail we did an early morning 4 mile run before your delicious breakfast.
The fellow guests we had breakfast with were enjoyable and friendly and we could have sat there all morning visiting.
Also only 2 blocks from beautiful downtown.
Be sure and book early to assure a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that your first stay in a B&B was a happy one. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just returned from 3 days in lovely Decorah. Iowa. Our stay @ Dug Road Inn really enhanced the whole trip. Very comfortable and well appointed ensuite rooms. Breakfasts were locally sourced, plated for you and just the right portions. Plus we enjoyed the company of our fellow residents so much, we didn't want to leave the table! A nice common room on 2nd floor has table/chairs, fridge and kitchenware so you can store a leftover or two, read the paper, whatever. Staff is friendly and just correct for this classy place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill Riley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We hope you will visit again!

Regarding our location, we are one block from Water Street (Decorah's main shopping & restaurant street), 1-1/2 blocks from the trail, 3-1/2 blocks from the park & a block from the Vesterheim Museum. I just wanted to point this out for future readers.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are happy you enjoyed it. Thank you for writing this very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The Dug Road Inn is a great place to stay in this beautiful town. Great food, comfortable rooms and Doug, the innkeeper, is attentive and a good source of information about the city and the state. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much. We are very proud of Decorah and love to share it with our visitors. Come back again....we would love to have you back at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Some friends and I recently stayed at the Dug Road Inn. It's a charming, well-decorated house close to the center of Decorah. We were able to walk to restaurants and a hiking trail. There's a large patio where we enjoyed a three-course breakfast each morning. The food was fresh and locally sourced and absolutely delicious. Everyone we came into contact with at the Inn was pleasant. We had access to a kitchen and our room had a decanter of water and a small vase of fresh flowers. The sheets and pillows were high-quality and comfortable and the bath products were fantastic and sustainable. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We loved having you! Thank you for the wonderful review and please come again...bring your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis MN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My spouse and I stayed here for two days, and we had the most delightful experience. The hosts were friendly and quite helpful, the house immaculate and beautifully designed, and the food was simply amazing. I want to go back tomorrow! While Decorah has many unexpected charms, this place sealed the deal as the best getaway ever. I loved it as did my spouse, who was a bit hesitant of the B&B idea before this experience. Thank you Doug, Sondra and Katie--you have set the bar really really high!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeriMinneapolisMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleenS, Owner at Dug Road Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and do c0me back in the summer to enjoy time on the porch.
Thanks again,
Doug and Shirleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decorah
0.3 mi away
Hotel Winneshiek
Hotel Winneshiek
#2 of 5 in Decorah
188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
No photo provided
Cresco Motel
#2 of 2 in Cresco
14 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Decorah
Super 8 Decorah
#4 of 5 in Decorah
344 reviews
16.6 mi away
Super 8 Cresco IA
Super 8 Cresco IA
#1 of 2 in Cresco
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dug Road Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dug Road Inn

Property: Dug Road Inn
Address: 601 West Main Decorah, Decorah, IA 52101
Region: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Decorah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dug Road Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dug Road Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dug Road Inn Decorah, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing