We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food done well”
Review of Family Table

Family Table
Ranked #13 of 42 Restaurants in Decorah
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: American
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Comfort food done well”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Went in with high hopes and low expectations. We were very pleased we ate lunch there. Solid comfort food well prepared with good portions. Service was good and friendly. Price was appropriate. The gravy on the hot roast beef sandwich was real gravy, not just bullion and water. The fries were done just right, and the mashed potatoes were real.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Family Table, Decorah, IA”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Seems there are not a lot of choices for a restaurant in Decorah. Sad! A lot of fast food & pizza available. The Family Table is exactly what it says. Regular family type menu. Very nice staff. Though I think our waitress was a bit new. Food was good-simple.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeanP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food and service - warm and welcoming!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A group of us were there taking a break from viewing the Decorah Eagles to have breakfast. We were wearing our matching Decorah Eagle t-shirts. The local patrons could not have been nicer and struck up a conversation with us. We had a great time conversing with the table next to us. Our server (I'm sorry I don't remember her name) was wonderful! She kept our coffees refilled and was attentive and friendly. We were fortunate to meet Stacey, the owner. It was wonderful to hear of her connection to the Decorah Eagles. Our breakfasts were delicious! So much food - served piping hot. I had the All American. Best hash browns and sausage I've had! My friends had the Four x Four and loved their breakfasts as well. This is a wonderful gem in Decorah. It's always a good sign when you pull into a parking lot and have to search for a parking place. Eating where the locals eat is the best when traveling. We loved it here and will be back next year for another delicious meal! Thank you Stacey and staff!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Illinois1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Good Diner”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stopped by after church, The breakfast is I think there specialty, All good and hot. The food came out rater fast for 9 of us. I have been there before for the apps and its frozen warmed up. or it tastes like they are.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Food was good, fast and hot. Waitress was awesome. Will be back to visit. Plenty of seating room. Average prices.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank funplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Family Table also viewed

 

Been to Family Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing