We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learned one thing - take a guest that buys your ice cream”
Review of Sugar Bowl

Sugar Bowl
Ranked #3 of 3 Dessert in Decorah
Restaurant details
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Learned one thing - take a guest that buys your ice cream”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After taking quite a few folks to the Sugar Bowl, I realized I was paying most of the time. Now I learned they are happy to pay because the ice cream is so good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveFmIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
141 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stopped by for a couple of ice cream cones to go. We were impressed with the many unique flavors, and the servings were generous. One scoop was definitely enough! Had we known the ice cream was this good, we would've made it a point to stop by earlier in our visit to Decorah. Next time we'll plan better, and will make it a daily stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B-and-FMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Definitely best Ice Cream and big servings!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Friendly owner/server, very clean, interesting decorations keeps you entertained. Plethora of flavors - every one I've had was great. I try to go there often and take visitors.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveFmIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We found this gem while visiting Decorah. The ice cream was delicious. Very smooth and creamy with lots of flavor. The inside atmosphere was one-of-a-kind with lots of fun memorabilia to look at while eating the yummy ice cream.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank daileh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great ice cream served in a store with unique antiques”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This store is not open during the winter months but on those hot summer days this ice cream hits the spot. The store is centrally located in downtown Decorah and only blocks off the Trout Run Bike Trail. There is an outdoor balcony where you can eat your ice cream and watch the downtown activities. They even ;have a bowl of water outside for the dogs. The antiques inside are really cute and it's worth a stop just to see them but really don't forget that great ice cream.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edie108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar Bowl also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing