We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old school”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historical Park Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Denison
Reviewed 8 August 2013

great vintage motel from the old lincoln highway days. had the donna reed room for only $61.00 per night. this place is for road warriors not super slab lovers. in addition it is right across the road from cronks(another institution on the lincoln)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had several rooms here for a recent family reunion. Don't expect the Marriot because this is an old, quaint hotel and inexpensive stay. The staff is trying very hard to update all the rooms, but as a private enterprise, it's going to take them some time. Our bathroom has just been remodeled and a new flat screen TV had been added, but they are remodeling one room at a time. We were surprised at how quiet our room was compared to the busy highway outside. The breakfast will get you started for the day- bagels, toast, cereal, juice, coffee. Nothing fancy.

The staff was great and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groupee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and will never stay here again! The room we were in needed maintenance and was VERY dated. Our room looked nothing like the room on this site. We even had a big, black spider in our sheets to greet us when we pulled down the bed covers. The towel bar in the bathroom fell off the wall when my husband took a towel off of it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Frogpondqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here one night for a wedding in town. First impression was that it was definitely historical. Our room was very small but we weren't planning on spending much time in there anyway. For the most part it was clean and comfortable. The sheets on the bed did not match and were sort of a yellow color and the bathroom had a slight smell of urine when it steamed up from the shower. Overall, for the price we paid and the amount of time we spent in the room, it was sufficient.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peca0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We read of the Park Motel in a guidebook about the Lincoln Highway. Located in Denison, IA (the home of Donna Reed), it is nicely located on the highway, close to downtown and right across the street from a very nice restaurant. The managers were very welcoming and helpful. Some of the rooms in the original 1940's section are themed. We had the Moose Room and it was very charming. The chair was a little iffy, with a super soft cushion that made standing up a challenge, but the bed was great and the shower was superb. There were tables and chairs to sit outside in the evening to enjoy the night air. If you like a little history in a nice, un-chainlike setting, the Park Motel is a great place to stay with reasonable rates and they take dogs!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I spent three nights at the Park for work. I specifically requested a room in the original section, which was built in 1940. For $50 with tax, I got a big corner room on the second floor. The owners are nice people, and are really proud of the history behind their motel. There's some interesting stuff in the lobby about the place.
The room was really nice. It was roomy, but not huge, and had a large TV in a bureau, as well as a desk and chair. There were some vintage fixtures in the room, including a really cool built in steel wall kitchen, which hid a fridge and microwave. Sadly, the bathroom had been remodeled in the '90s. It was clean, but the bland budget fixtures must have replaced a nice tile bath. The bed was nice, and had a blanket and quilt. My room was quiet at night. They do have laundry machines down in the basement of the old building, and the prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtripperMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

I have to admit that I was already expecting greatness as this hotel is rated #1 in Denison and I was not at all disappointed. We have been driving from the Caribbean (Mexico) to California and now out to the midwest before heading home and we're getting a little tired of constant motel rooms. This hotel was a nice change of pace. The heat was WONDERFUL, the bathroom, while decorated in period tile was SPOTLESSLY clean. Honestly, if I could get my bathroom tiles at home as clean as that bathroom I'd be a Very Happy person. The furniture was very nice for such an economical hotel and I was really surprised at how nice they were.

For wintertime, especially if you're a runner, the heater is perfectly located to dry out your damp running attire. You can do a nice 5 mile loop with a couple decent hills (well, I'm from the Yucatan and anything with a slight rise is a hill to me) by heading out to Frontier Road (see mapmyrun for details). The hotel desk lady (not sure if she's the owner or not) was so incredibly kind, it was a treat just to walk into the office. When we left (after extending our stay another night) she gifted us a book on the Lincoln highway. What a LOVELY gift! I was SO TOUCHED by her kindness - we have been traveling the byways (highway 50 and 30) and this book is such a treat to read.

The breakfast consisted of bananas, oranges, coffee, hot chocolate, cereals, oatmeal and breakfast bars. Oh, and bread and toppings also. We are coffee snobs (well, we buy our beans direct from the grower and have them roasted by an old Italian at home, so we're pretty spoiled) and didn't even try the hotel coffee - we always bring our own along with a grinder and coffeepot, so I have no idea what the coffee was like, but the kids LOVED the hot chocolate offered. And I really appreciated the paper (not styrofoam) cups.

The only worry I had was with the floor. We were in the east wing and i was always worried the kids were making too much noise walking across the floor as it was pretty creaky (just a function of the age of the hotel). Not really a complaint, just a concern for other travelers who might be under us. Internet worked PERFECTLY, we've been in higher priced hotels with much worse internet. They might have had one of the best of the trip. There is a German (original to the opening of the hotel) restaurant across the street and KFC next door. But up in Ida Grove, you can get $1.0 root beer floats (special) and 5-cent coffee (normal price) at the drugstore/soda fountain.

Make sure to visit all the lovely Victorians in town and then head up to Ida Grove and check out the castles. We loved our visit to lovely Denison and the Park Hotel turned an overnight stop into a lovely 2-night stay.

I would not only stay here again, but am going to look into planning our return trip through Denison so we can stay here again. They are very pet friendly, kid friendly, people friendly; heck - they're just FRIENDLY and really, very kind with a hotel in wonderful condition.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamnkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denison hotels
1.4 mi away
Boulders Inn and Suites
1.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites - Oak Ridge
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn Motel
#4 of 5 in Denison
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historical Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historical Park Motel

Address: 803 4th Ave S, Denison, IA 51442-2425
Region: United States > Iowa > Denison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Denison
Price Range: £66 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historical Park Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Historical Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing