We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historical Park Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Denison
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. We stayed in a hunting theme room. The room was nice and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Big bathroom. Service is great. It is a historical site so it is to be expected it has an old look and feel to it. Overall a nice experience while being on the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandym7872013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Historical Park Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I were on our way to see the Iowa Great Lakes but were tired of driving and stopped in Denison Iowa for fuel. We went to the Park Motel on the chance they would have room of any kind. Not only did they have a room the service was great,check in was effort less, and the manager escorted us to our room to make sure it suited our needs. It was overwhelming, we got the Donna Reed room which was furnished in all things Donna Reed. It is an older property, but it was clean,well maintained, and the young couple managing it could have been more helpful or nicer. The next time we get within 100 miles of Denison we will be staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed one night here in September on my holidays from Scotland UK. the lady at the reception was very friendly and helpful. I stayed in a quaint "fishing" themed room which was spotlessly clean with a new large flat screen tv. The bed was large and comfy and I had a wonderful night sleep. overall a very nice experience
I love these old style family run motels and always try and stay in one when touring in the USA

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

You may have stayed here in the 50's or 60's with your parents - which is what makes it fun. The property is slowly being renovated so make sure you get an updated room. We were asked if we wanted to see the room and if we had decided based on the stairs going to the room we would have not stayed. The room, however, was quite nice, clean and had really neat old metal built-ins - including what was an old ice box. Kara at the front desk was most accommodating and, as noted elsewhere, the price at around $60 is really hard to beat. We had come from some very nice places as we drove back from the Black Hills and were looking for something unique. A historical property on the Lincoln Road definitely qualifies.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJDOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

great vintage motel from the old lincoln highway days. had the donna reed room for only $61.00 per night. this place is for road warriors not super slab lovers. in addition it is right across the road from cronks(another institution on the lincoln)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had several rooms here for a recent family reunion. Don't expect the Marriot because this is an old, quaint hotel and inexpensive stay. The staff is trying very hard to update all the rooms, but as a private enterprise, it's going to take them some time. Our bathroom has just been remodeled and a new flat screen TV had been added, but they are remodeling one room at a time. We were surprised at how quiet our room was compared to the busy highway outside. The breakfast will get you started for the day- bagels, toast, cereal, juice, coffee. Nothing fancy.

The staff was great and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groupee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and will never stay here again! The room we were in needed maintenance and was VERY dated. Our room looked nothing like the room on this site. We even had a big, black spider in our sheets to greet us when we pulled down the bed covers. The towel bar in the bathroom fell off the wall when my husband took a towel off of it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Frogpondqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denison
1.4 mi away
Boulders Inn and Suites
1.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites - Oak Ridge
23.6 mi away
Super 8 Ida Grove
Super 8 Ida Grove
#1 of 2 in Ida Grove
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn Motel
#4 of 5 in Denison
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Historical Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historical Park Motel

Address: 803 4th Ave S, Denison, IA 51442-2425
Region: United States > Iowa > Denison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Denison
Price Range: £64 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historical Park Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Historical Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing